Outspoken fanatics and activists Rage Against the Machine educated crowds of music fans by injecting their explosive Molotov cocktail of rap, hardcore punk, funk and metal with a dose of fiercely controversial and politically charged urgency.

 

rage against the machine live 1

 

Mainstream explosion in 1992 for Rage Against the Machine with "Killing in the Name" - their sonorous protest against police brutality and systemic racism - Rage Against the Machine planted its flag in the scene with its first triple platinum, Rage Against the Machine, which courted controversy with its cover graphic of a self-immolated Protestant Buddhist monk.

For the remainder of the decade, Rage Against the Machine continued to deliver this anti-authoritarian and revolutionary message, extending their platinum streak with subsequent winners of the Grammy Awards Evil Empire (1996) and The Battle of Los Angeles (1999).

By the turn of the millennium, it looked like they would show no signs of easing off, balancing sales and chart success with headline-grabbing protests (like the closing of the New York Stock Exchange for a video shoot. ).

 

Rage Against the Machine

Rage Against the Machine

 

However, at the end of 2000, Rage Against the Machine imploded and decided to take a hiatus. After releasing a cover album, Renegades, the members pursued other projects, with lead vocalist Zack de la Rocha solo and the rest of the band forming Audioslave with Soundgarden vocalist Chris Cornell.

In the 2010s, a comeback album from Rage Against the Machine never materialized, but the band remained a staple of the cultural landscape, performing shows and working on side projects such as Prophets of Rage.

 


At the turn of the next decade, Rage Against the Machine made another official comeback, hosting a global reunion tour in 2020 that was sidelined by the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic.

That same year, amid international protests against police brutality, their landmark debut struck a chord with protesters, re-entering the U.S. charts as each of their albums hit the Top 30 streaming services.

Rage Against the Machine: the formation of the group

The initial training of Rage Against the Machine

Tackling American business, cultural imperialism and government oppression, Rage Against the Machine was formed in Los Angeles in the early 1990s from the wreckage of a number of local bands: singer Zack de la Rocha (the son of Chicano political artist Robert de la Rocha) is from the Headstance, Farside and Inside Out groups;

guitarist Tom Morello (nephew of Jomo Kenyatta, Kenya's first president) is from Lock Up; and drummer Brad Wilk performed with future Pearl Jam frontman Eddie Vedder.

 

rage against the machine live 4

 

First tape of the group

Completed by bassist Tim Commerford, a childhood friend of de la Rocha, Rage Against the Machine debuted in 1992 with a self-released 12-song cassette titled "Bullet in the Head", which became a hit. when re-released as a single later. during this year.

The tape won the group a deal with Epic, and their leap into the majors did not go unnoticed by critics, who questioned the groundbreaking integrity of Rage Against the Machine's decision to align with the parent company of the label, media giant Sony.

 

Rage Against the Machine: the success

Undeterred, the quartet made their official debut on major labels with Rage Against the Machine , scoring hits with singles like "Killing in the Name" and "Bombtrack". After touring with Lollapalooza and declaring his support for bands like FAIR (Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting), Rock for Choice and Refuse & Resist, Rage Against the Machine has spent four seemingly tumultuous years working on their follow-up.

Despite rumors of a breakup, Rage Against the Machine returned in 1996 with Evil Empire, which entered the US charts at number one and scored a hit single with “Bulls on Parade”.

The track "Tire Me" won a Grammy for best metal performance.

In 1997, (the Wu subsequently abandoned the tour and the Roots replaced them) and remained active in supporting various left-wing political causes, including a concert-controversial profit in 1999 for the condemned to death Mumia Abu-Jamal.

 

Rage Against the Machine

Rage Against the Machine

 

The third album The Battle of Los Angeles followed in 1999, also debuting at number one and going double platinum the following summer. The single album "Guerrilla Radio" earned Rage a second Grammy, this time for Best Hard Rock Performance.

Live at the Grand Olympic Auditorium In early 2000, de la Rocha announced plans for a solo project and the band put on an incendiary show outside the Democratic National Convention in August (and months later things turned in outside the Republican National Convention).

 

 

The Rage Against the Machine split

In between, bassist Commerford was arrested for disorderly conduct at the MTV's Video Music Awards after his bizarre disruption of an acceptance speech by Limp Bizkit. Plans for a live album were announced soon after, but in October de la Rocha abruptly announced his departure from the band, citing breakdowns in the band's communication and decision-making.

Surprised but not angry, the rest of the Rage Against the Machine announced their intention to continue with a new singer, while de la Rocha refocused on his solo album, which was to include collaborations with hip-hop artists from renowned, including DJ Shadow and El-P of Company Flow.

 

 

December 2000 saw the release of de la Rocha's last studio effort with the band, the Renegades produced by Rick Rubin; it featured nearly a dozen covers of hip-hop, rock, and punk artists like EPMD, Bruce Springsteen, Devo, The Rolling Stones, MC5, and more.

In 2001, Morello, Wilk, and Commerford had formed Audioslave with Soundgarden frontman Chris Cornell, and the band released an eponymous album in late 2002. With a solo Rocha album still not announced, Epic eventually released. concert album long-promised Live at the Grand Olympic Auditorium on CD and DVD in time for Christmas 2003.

 

Rage Against the Machine: reunion rumors.

Over the following years, rumors of a Rage Against the Machine reunion always swirled but never came to fruition.

Two Audioslave albums followed in 2005 and 2006 before the band broke up, and then the following year Morello began releasing protest folk-punk as Nightwatchman.

 


This year also brought the long-awaited Rage Against the Machine reunion. First, the band performed on the closing day of the Coachella festival in 2007, then in 2008. several other concerts followed, usually coinciding with major festivals in Europe and the U.S. No new studio work from Rage Against the Machine materialized, but de la Rocha did collaborate with former Mars drummer Volta Jon Theodore in a group called One Day as a Lion, releasing an EP that year.

 

2009, the return of Rage Against the Machine!

Rage Against the Machine's next boom in business came in 2009 when there was an internet campaign to bring "Killing in the Name" to the top of the UK charts, all in hopes of stopping an X Factor winner. to take pole position.

The viral campaign worked and Rage Against the Machine gave a concert celebration at Finsbury Park in the summer of 2010.

Despite all of these gigs - including an appearance in the summer of 2011 at LA Rising, a festival hosted by the band - and word of a new album, no recordings have emerged.

In 2013 their debut album received a deluxe reissue and two years later the 2010 concert at Finsbury Park was released as a CD / DVD. The following year, Morello, Wilk and Commerford joined forces with Public Enemy "s Chuck D and Cypress Hill" s real B to form the Prophets of Rage Supergroups, releasing an eponymous album in 2017.

As 2019 drew to a close, Rage Against the Machine kicked off a new decade with more reports of a comeback. Coachella appearances were later confirmed, the start of a global trek that would pair the veteran group with like-minded rap duo (and frequent Rocha collaborators) Run the Jewels.

However, plans were halted in March, when the COVID-19 pandemic forced most live music to be canceled for 2020.

In June, as protests against police brutality erupted around the world following the death of George Floyd, Rage Against the Machine albums returned to Billboard.

 

 

Rage Against the Machine's debut album: an essential album

Probably the first album to successfully merge the seemingly disparate sounds of rap and heavy metal, Rage Against the Machine's self-titled debut album was revolutionary enough when it was released in 1992, but many would argue that it has yet to be surpassed in terms of influence. and sheer shine - although countless bands have certainly tried.

Rage Against the Machine

Rage Against the Machine

This is probably due to the unique creative relationship between guitarist Tom Morello and literate rebel singer Zack de la Rocha.

While the roots of the first in the shredding of the 80s heavy metal gave rise to an unmistakable array of six-string acrobatics and rhythmic special effects (which few guitarists have succeeded in replicating), the latter delivered meaningful rhymes with an emotionally charged conviction that suburban white them boys from the nu-metal generation who followed could never hope to touch.

As a result, syncopated slabs of hard rock insurgency like "Bombtrack", "Take the Power Back" and "Know Your Enemy" were as instantly unforgettable as they were stunning.

Yet even they paled compared to real clinics in the art of slowly building the tension like "Settle for Nothing", "Bullet in the Head" and the particularly venomous "Wake Up" .'s "Kashmir" for its own needs ) - which eventually exploded with awesome power and fury.

And even listeners who were unable (or unwilling) to fully process the group's unique shock of muscle and intellect were taken into account, as RATM was able to convey their messages through stubborn repetition via the fundamental challenge of " Freedom ”and their signature track,“ Killing in the Name, ”which would become a rallying cry of denial of the right to vote, thanks to its relentlessly rebellious mantra of“ Fuck you, I won't do what you tell me! "

Ultimately, if there's one disappointment to be had with this near-perfect album, it's that it still dominates later endeavors as the unequivocal climax of Rage Against the Machine.

As such, it remains absolutely essential.

 

Rage Against the Machine: DEVIL EMPIRE

Rage Against the Machine spent four years making their second album, Evil Empire.

As the title suggests, their rage and contempt for the “fascist” capitalist system in America had not abated in the half-decade they had left.

Rage Against The Machine Evil Empire 640x640 1Their musical approach hasn't changed either. Lead singer Zack de la Rocha is caught halfway between the militant raps of Chuck D and the fanatic delusions of a street preacher, shouting his simplistic and libertarian slogans over the band's dense sonic assault.

As the group did not play much together after 1993, there is no collective advance in their musicality. Nevertheless, guitarist Tom Morello demonstrates an impressive sonic palette, creating new textures. in heavy metal, which is quite difficult.

Even with Morello's studied virtuosity, the group seems leaden, lacking the dexterity to fully perform their metal / hip-hop fusion - they do not fit into a groove; they just hammer.

But that corresponds to the hysterical delusions of de la Rocha. While his dedication to staunchly leftist politics is admirable, his arrhythmic phrasing and grating screams nullify any message he tries to make. And that means Evil Empire only succeeds at the level of a sonic assault.

 

Rage Against the Machine: Battle of Los Angeles

Rage Against the Machine isn't really the only metal band that matters, but their aggressive social and political activism is refreshing, especially in an era of blind (or usually self-directed) rage over bands like Limp Bizkit, Bush or Nine. .

RAtM BattleofLosAngelesRecorded in less than a month, The Battle of Los Angeles is the most focused album of the band's career, exploding out the door and rarely letting it go.

Like a few other famous bands, Rage Against the Machine has always been blessed with the fact that the band spews as much vitriol as its frontman. Any potential problems created here by Zack de la Rocha's performance of a note and extremist polemics are mitigated by songs and grooves that make it feel like the revolution is really here, from the single "Guerrilla Radio" to the highlights. albums like "Mic Check", "Calm Like a Bomb" and "Born of a Broken Man".

As on the two previous albums of Rage Against the Machine , Tom Morello's list of vicious guitar effects and riffs is almost overwhelming and has been as infectious as the band since their debut.

De la Rocha is best when he has specific goals (like the government or the case against Mumia Abu Jamal), but when trying to cover more general societal issues, he hesitates. An album that remains essential

 

Rage Against the Machien: Renegades

Released after the split in late 2000 between Zack de la Rocha and the rest of Rage Against the Machine, the cover album Renegades salutes the group's musical and philosophical roots, ranging from old-school Bronx to hard-rockin 'Motor City by the way. By As you might expect, the ensemble works best when the band focuses on material from their more recent ancestors: rappers and hardcore bands.

e32931a55ea0f12c3aba5729395f7bb5Indeed, Renegades begins with a pair of powerful hip-hop covers - "Microphone Fiend" by Eric B & Rakim and "Pistol Grip Pump" from Volume 10 - which highlight the immense strengths of Rage: The clean and heavy riffing. from Tom Morello and the finely tuned spray of vitriol from the singer de la Rocha, just that side of complacency.

Another hip-hop blast (and the one closest to us), “How I Could Just Kill a Man” by Cypress Hill, is even more devastating, an easy pick for the album's highlight. Listeners familiar with the originals, however, may have trouble with covers of Rage from EPMD's "I'm Housin '", The Stones' "Street Fighting Man" and Dylan's "Maggie's Farm", a trio of originals from The Stones. versions in which anger and emotion were conveyed more in the lyrics than in the performances.

Still, drummer Brad Wilk sets a frenzied hardcore tempo appropriate for Minor Threat's excellent version of “In My Eyes”, and de la Rocha stretches nicely over MC5's “Kick Out the Jams”.

With a few exceptions, Renegades performs well, in part because Rage Against the Machine is both smart enough to change very little and talented enough to make the songs their own.

 

 


 

Eric CANTO Photographer: Concert photos, portraits, album covers.

 

Visit my portfolio Visit the blog Visit the shop contact me

 


 

 

 

Other articles that may interest you:
The Beatles: Get Back, tout ce que vous devez savoir
The Beatles Get Back 1

Le prochain documentaire "The Beatles: Get Back" réalisé par Peter Jackson offrira un regard révélateur sur le groupe. Voici ce Read more

David Bailey: Look again
David Bailey 3

David Bailey and the Sixties The sixties, David Bailey tells us in his new autobiography, were over around Read more

NIRVANA: the soundtrack of the 90s
nirvana

If the '90s were a movie, the soundtrack would be 100 % Nirvana. Back when Kurt Cobain, Read more

GIBSON LES PAUL: 100 YEARS OF MYTH
GIBSON-LES-PAUL

Gibson les Paul: The Story of a Myth Gibson, arguably the world's most iconic guitar brand, is a Read more

en_USEnglish

Sélectionner une page

Les fanatiques et militants du franc-parler Rage Against the Machine ont éduqué des foules de fans de musique en injectant leur cocktail Molotov explosif de rap, de punk hardcore, de funk et de métal avec une dose d’une urgence farouchement polémique et politiquement chargée.

 

Rage Against the Machine : l'histoire, les clips, les concerts 9

 

Explosion mainstream en 1992 pour Rage Against the Machine avec « Killing in the Name » – leur protestation sonore contre la brutalité policière et le racisme systémique – Rage Against the Machine a planté son drapeau dans la scène avec son premier triple platine, Rage Against the Machine , qui a courtisé la controverse avec son couverture graphique d’un moine bouddhiste protestant et auto-immolé.

Pour le reste de la décennie, les Rage Against the Machine ont continué à faire passer ce message anti-autoritaire et révolutionnaire, prolongeant leur séquence de platine avec les gagnants ultérieurs des Grammy Awards Evil Empire (1996) et The Battle of Los Angeles (1999).

Au tournant du millénaire, il semblait qu’ils ne montreraient aucun signe de relâchement, d’équilibrer les ventes et le succès des graphiques avec des manifestations qui font la une des journaux (comme la fermeture de la Bourse de New York pour un tournage vidéo).

 

Rage Against the Machine

Rage Against the Machine

 

Cependant, à la fin de 2000, Rage Against the Machine a implosé et a décidé de faire une pause. Après avoir publié un album de reprises, Renegades , les membres ont poursuivi d’autres projets, avec le chanteur Zack de la Rocha en solo et le reste du groupe formant Audioslave avec Soundgarden.le chanteur Chris Cornell .

Dans les années 2010, un album de retour de Rage Against the Machine ne s’est jamais matérialisé, mais le groupe est resté un incontournable du paysage culturel, effectuant des spectacles et travaillant sur des projets parallèles tels que Prophets of Rage .

 


Au tournant de la décennie suivante, Rage Against the Machine a fait un autre retour officiel, organisant une tournée mondiale de retrouvailles en 2020 qui a été mise à l’écart par l’épidémie de la pandémie COVID-19.

La même année, au milieu des manifestations internationales contre la brutalité policière, leurs débuts marquants ont touché une corde sensible auprès des manifestants, réintégrant les charts américains alors que chacun de leurs albums atteignait le Top 30 des services de streaming.

Rage Against the Machine : la formation du groupe

La formation initale de Rage Against the Machine

S’attaquant aux entreprises américaines, à l’impérialisme culturel et à l’oppression gouvernementale, Rage Against the Machine s’est formé à Los Angeles au début des années 90 à partir de l’épave d’un certain nombre de groupes locaux: le chanteur Zack de la Rocha (le fils de l’artiste politique chicano Robert de la Rocha) est issu des groupes Headstance , Farside et Inside Out ;

le guitariste Tom Morello (le neveu de Jomo Kenyatta, le premier président kenyan) est originaire de Lock Up ; et le batteur Brad Wilk a joué avec le futur leader de Pearl Jam Eddie Vedder .

 

Rage Against the Machine : l'histoire, les clips, les concerts 10

 

Premiere cassette du groupe

Complété par le bassiste Tim Commerford , un ami d’enfance de de la Rocha , Rage Against the Machine a fait ses débuts en 1992 avec une cassette de 12 chansons auto-publiée et intitulée « Bullet in the Head », qui est devenue un succès lors de sa réédition en single plus tard. dans l’année.

La bande a valu au groupe un accord avec Epic, et leur saut dans les majors n’est pas passé inaperçu par les détracteurs, qui ont remis en question l’intégrité révolutionnaire de la décision de Rage Against the Machine de s’aligner sur la société mère du label, le géant des médias Sony.

 

Rage Against the Machine : le succès

Sans se décourager, le quatuor a fait ses débuts officiels sur les grands labels avec Rage Against the Machine , marquant des succès avec des singles comme « Killing in the Name » et « Bombtrack ». Après avoir tourné avec Lollapalooza et déclaré son soutien à des groupes comme FAIR (Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting), Rock for Choice et Refuse & Resist, Rage Against the Machine a passé quatre ans apparemment tumultueux à travailler sur leur suivi.

Malgré les rumeurs d’une rupture, Rage Against the Machine revient en 1996 avec Evil Empire , qui est entré dans les charts américains au numéro un et a marqué un single à succès avec « Bulls on Parade ».

Le morceau « Tire Me » a remporté un Grammy pour la meilleure performance métal.

En 1997,(le Wu a par la suite abandonné la tournée et les Roots les ont remplacés) et sont restés actifs dans le soutien de diverses causes politiques de gauche, y compris un concert-bénéfice controversé en 1999 pour la condamnée à mort Mumia Abu-Jamal .

 

Rage Against the Machine

Rage Against the Machine

 

Le troisième album The Battle of Los Angeles a suivi en 1999, faisant également ses débuts au numéro un et devenant double platine l’été suivant. L’album single « Guerrilla Radio » a valu à Rage un deuxième Grammy, cette fois pour la meilleure performance de Hard Rock.

En direct au Grand Auditorium OlympiqueAu début de 2000, de la Rocha a annoncé des plans pour un projet solo et le groupe a présenté un spectacle incendiaire en dehors de la Convention nationale démocrate en août (et des mois plus tard, les choses ont remué en dehors de la Convention nationale républicaine).

 

 

Le split de Rage Against the Machine

Entre les deux, le bassiste Commerford a été arrêté pour conduite désordonnée aux MTV’s Video Music Awards après sa perturbation bizarre d’un discours d’acceptation de Limp Bizkit . Des plans pour un album live ont été annoncés peu de temps après, mais en octobre, de la Rocha a annoncé brusquement son départ du groupe, invoquant des pannes dans la communication et la prise de décision du groupe.

Surpris mais pas en colère, le reste des Rage Against the Machine ont annoncé son intention de continuer avec un nouveau chanteur, tandis que de la Rocha s’est recentré sur son album solo, qui devait inclure des collaborations avec des artistes hip-hop de renom, notamment DJ Shadow et El-P de Company Flow .

 

 

Décembre 2000 a vu la sortie du dernier effort de studio de de la Rocha avec le groupe, les Renegades produits par Rick Rubin ; il comprenait près d’une douzaine de reprises d’artistes hip-hop, rock et punk comme EPMD , Bruce Springsteen , Devo , les Rolling Stones , le MC5 , et plus encore.

En 2001, Morello ,Wilk et Commerford avaient formé Audioslave avec le chanteur de Soundgarden Chris Cornell , et le groupe a sorti un album éponyme à la fin de 2002. Avec un album solo de la Rocha toujours pas annoncé, Epic a finalement sorti l’album de concert promis depuis longtemps Live at the Grand Auditorium olympique sur CD et DVD à temps pour Noël 2003.

 

Rage Against the Machine: les rumeurs de réunion.

Au cours des années suivantes, les rumeurs d’une réunion de Rage Against the Machine ont toujours tourbillonné mais ne se sont jamais concrétisées.

Deux albums Audioslave ont suivi en 2005 et 2006 avant la séparation du groupe, puis l’année suivante, Morello a commencé à sortir le folk-punk protestataire en tant que Nightwatchman .

 


Cette année a également amené la réunion tant attendue de Rage Against the Machine . Tout d’abord, le groupe a joué le jour de clôture du festival Coachella en 2007, puis en 2008 plusieurs autres concerts ont suivi, coïncidant généralement avec les principaux festivals en Europe et aux États-Unis.Aucun nouveau travail en studio de Rage Against the Machine ne s’est matérialisé, mais de la Rocha a collaboré avec l’ancien batteur de Mars Volta Jon Theodore dans un groupe appelé One Day as a Lion , sortant un EP cette année-là.

 

2009, le retour de Rage Against the Machine !

La prochaine explosion d’ activité de Rage Against the Machine est survenue en 2009 quand il y avait une campagne Internet pour amener « Killing in the Name » au sommet des charts britanniques, le tout dans l’espoir d’empêcher un gagnant de X Factor de prendre la pole position.

La campagne virale a fonctionné et Rage Against the Machine a donné un concert de célébration gratuit à Finsbury Park à l’été 2010.

Malgré tous ces concerts – y compris une apparition à l’été 2011 à LA Rising, un festival organisé par le groupe – et le mot d’un nouvel album, non des enregistrements sont apparus.

En 2013, leur premier album a reçu une réédition de luxe et, deux ans plus tard, le concert de 2010 à Finsbury Park a été publié sous forme de CD / DVD. L’année suivante, Morello , Wilk et Commerfordont uni leurs forces avec Public Enemy « s Chuck D et Cypress Colline » s B réel pour former les supergroupes prophètes de Rage , libérant un album éponyme en 2017.

Alors que 2019 touchait à sa fin, Rage Against the Machine a entamé une nouvelle décennie avec plus de rapports sur un retour. Les apparitions de Coachella ont été confirmées plus tard, le début d’un trek mondial qui associerait le groupe vétéran au duo de rap aux vues similaires (et aux collaborateurs fréquents de la Rocha ) Run the Jewels .

Cependant, les plans ont été interrompus en mars, lorsque la pandémie COVID-19 a forcé l’annulation de la plupart des musiques live pour 2020.

En juin, alors que des manifestations contre la brutalité policière éclataient dans le monde après la mort de George Floyd, les albums de Rage Against the Machine sont revenus sur Billboard.

 

 

Le premier album de Rage Against the Machine: un album essentiel

Probablement le premier album à fusionner avec succès les sons apparemment disparates du rap et du heavy metal, le premier album éponyme de Rage Against the Machine était suffisamment révolutionnaire lors de sa sortie en 1992, mais beaucoup diront qu’il n’a pas encore été dépassé en termes d’influence. et une brillance pure – bien que d’innombrables groupes aient certainement essayé.

Rage Against the Machine

Rage Against the Machine

Ceci est probablement dû à la relation créative unique entre le guitariste Tom Morello et le chanteur rebelle lettré Zack de la Rocha .

Alors que les racines du premier dans le déchiquetage du heavy metal des années 80 ont donné lieu à une gamme inimitable d’acrobaties à six cordes et d’effets spéciaux rythmiques (que peu de guitaristes ont réussi à reproduire), ce dernier a livré des rimes significatives avec une conviction chargée d’émotion que le blanc de banlieue les garçons de la génération nu-metal qui a suivi ne pourraient jamais espérer toucher.

En conséquence, des dalles syncopées d’insurrection de hard rock comme «Bombtrack», «Take the Power Back» et «Know Your Enemy» étaient aussi instantanément inoubliables qu’étonnantes.

Pourtant, même ils pâlissaient par rapport aux véritables cliniques dans l’art de monter lentement la tension comme « Settle for Nothing », « Bullet in the Head » et le « Wake Up » particulièrement venimeux.’s « Kashmir » pour ses propres besoins) – qui ont finalement explosé avec une puissance et une fureur impressionnantes.

Et même les auditeurs qui étaient incapables (ou ne voulaient pas) de traiter pleinement le choc unique de muscle et d’intellect du groupe ont été pris en compte, car RATM a pu transmettre leurs messages par une répétition obstinée via le défi fondamental de « Freedom » et leur morceau signature,  » Killing in the Name, « qui deviendrait un cri de ralliement de privation du droit de vote, grâce à son mantra implacablement rebelle de  « Fuck you, I won’t do what you tell me! »

En fin de compte, s’il y a une déception à avoir avec cet album presque parfait, c’est qu’il domine toujours les efforts ultérieurs en tant que point culminant sans équivoque de Rage Against the Machine.

En tant que tel, il reste absolument essentiel.

 

Rage Against the Machine : DEVIL EMPIRE

Rage Against the Machine a passé quatre ans à faire son deuxième album, Evil Empire .

Comme le titre l’indique, leur rage et leur mépris pour le système capitaliste «fasciste» en Amérique n’avaient pas diminué au cours de la demi-décennie où ils étaient partis.

Rage Against the Machine : l'histoire, les clips, les concerts 11Leur approche musicale n’a pas non plus changé. Le chanteur principal Zack de la Rocha est pris à mi-chemin entre les raps militants de Chuck D et les délires fanatiques d’un prédicateur de rue, criant ses slogans simplistes et libertaires sur l’assaut sonore dense du groupe.

Comme le groupe n’a pas beaucoup joué ensemble après 1993, il n’y a pas d’avancée collective dans leur musicalité. Néanmoins, le guitariste Tom Morello démontre une palette sonore impressionnante, créant de nouvelles textures dans le heavy metal, ce qui est assez difficile.

Même avec la virtuosité étudiée de Morello , le groupe semble plombé, manquant de dextérité pour exécuter pleinement leur fusion métal / hip-hop – ils n’entrent pas dans un groove; ils martèlent simplement.

Mais cela correspond aux délires hystériques de de la Rocha . Bien que son dévouement à la politique résolument de gauche soit admirable, son phrasé arythmique et ses cris râpants annulent tout message qu’il essaie de faire. Et cela signifie que Evil Empire ne réussit qu’au niveau d’un assaut sonore.

 

Rage Against the Machine : Battle of Los Angeles

Rage Against the Machine n’est pas vraiment le seul groupe de metal qui compte, mais leur activisme social et politique agressif est rafraîchissant, surtout à une époque de rage aveugle (ou généralement autodirigée) due à des groupes comme Limp Bizkit , Bush ou Nine.

Rage Against the Machine : l'histoire, les clips, les concerts 12Enregistré en moins d’un mois, The Battle of Los Angeles est l’album le plus ciblé de la carrière du groupe, explosant depuis la porte et laissant rarement passer le tout.

Comme quelques autres groupes célèbres, Rage Against the Machine a toujours été béni par le fait que le groupe crache autant de vitriol que son leader. Tout problème potentiel créé ici par La prestation d’une note de Zack de la Rocha et les polémiques extrémistes sont atténuées par des chansons et des grooves qui donnent l’impression que la révolution est vraiment là, du single « Guerrilla Radio » aux moments forts de l’album comme « Mic Check », « Calm Like une bombe »et« Né d’un homme brisé ».

Comme sur les deux albums précédents de Rage Against the Machine , la liste d’effets de guitare et de riffs vicieux de Tom Morello est presque écrasante et est aussi contagieuse que le groupe depuis ses débuts.

De la Rocha est le meilleur lorsqu’il a des objectifs spécifiques (comme le gouvernement ou l’affaire contre Mumia Abu Jamal), mais lorsqu’il tente de couvrir des problèmes de société plus généraux, il hésite. Un album qui reste essentiel

 

Rage Against the Machien: Renegades

Sorti après la scission fin 2000 entre Zack de la Rocha et le reste de Rage Against the Machine , l’album de reprises Renegades salue les racines musicales et philosophiques du groupe, allant de la vieille école Bronx au hard-rockin ‘Motor City en passant par Comme on pouvait s’y attendre, l’ensemble fonctionne mieux lorsque le groupe se concentre sur le matériel de ses ancêtres les plus récents: les rappeurs et les groupes hardcore.

Rage Against the Machine : l'histoire, les clips, les concerts 13En effet, Renegades commence par une paire de reprises hip-hop puissantes – «Microphone Fiend» d’ Eric B & Rakim et «Pistol Grip Pump» du Volume 10 – qui mettent en lumière les immenses atouts de Rage :Le riffing net et lourd de Tom Morello et le jet de vitriol finement réglé du chanteur de la Rocha , juste ce côté de l’autosatisfaction.

Une autre explosion hip-hop (et celle qui est la plus proche de chez nous), « How I Could Just Kill a Man » de Cypress Hill , est encore plus dévastatrice, un choix facile pour le clou de l’album. Les auditeurs familiers avec les originaux, cependant, peuvent avoir des problèmes avec les reprises de Rage de « I’m Housin ‘ » de EPMD , « Street Fighting Man  » des Stones et « Maggie’s Farm » de Dylan , un trio d’originaux des versions dont la colère et l’émotion étaient davantage véhiculées dans les paroles que dans les performances.

Pourtant, le batteur Brad Wilk définit un tempo hardcore frénétique approprié pour l’excellente version de « In My Eyes » de Minor Threat , et de la Rocha s’étire bien sur le « Kick Out the Jams » du MC5 .

À quelques exceptions près, Renegades fonctionne bien, en partie parce que Rage Against the Machine est à la fois assez intelligent pour changer très peu et assez talentueux pour s’approprier les chansons.

 

 


 

Eric CANTO Photographe : Photos de concert, portraits, pochettes d’album.

 

Visitez mon portfolio Visitez le blog Visitez le shop Contactez moi

 


 

 

 

Articles similaires
THE PRODIGY 5

Les Débuts de The PRODIGY La force musicale derrière le son de The Prodigy Read more
LIVRE HELLFEST 6

Livre Hellfest : Retour en image et vidéos sur les 2 livres Hellfest qui sont en vente actuellement. Festival culte, Read more

MUSE EN 8 ALBUMS 7

MUSE: l'histoire d'un trio hors norme. MUSE est un groupe évoluant de ses origines de rock alternatif de la fin Read more

NIRVANA : la bande originale des années 90 8

Si les années 90 étaient un film, la bande originale serait 100 % Nirvana. À l'époque où Kurt Cobain , Read more