Portrait photography: what you need to know to start portrait photography 

the portrait photo is a difficult science. There is no miracle recipe but rather a series of little things to know. Knowing how to capture the small moment that makes someone beautiful, the look that betrays an emotion, the attitude that is specific to a person… is not an easy task, however. To succeed a portrait photo, it takes a lot more than technical know-how, but not that ...

Discover in this article some information to try to make a good portrait when you start. Nothing miraculous, but if you want to get started, here are some ideas.

 

carried photo

Photo portrait - Portrait photo - Photo credit Eric CANTO

Portrait photography can be extremely rewarding and at the same time extremely difficult. While most other photographic genres rely entirely on the ideas, talent and techniques of the photographer… The portrait introduces a wild card… the subject.

While a landscape photographer can spend time tweaking camera settings, or sitting down while nibbling, waiting for the light to be perfect, a portrait photographer must move!

A portrait "subject" will be bored and fidgety if he has to sit down. waiting for the photographer. This is especially true for children, busy business people, the elderly, and pets.

 

make a photo portrait

Photo portrait - Portrait photo - Photo credit Eric CANTO

The photo portrait technique

most of the time, the portraits are not technically complicated. You have to highlight your model, the highlight that will take all the attention of the image unless you want to associate it with another element. The main thing is to highlight your subject. Let him occupy all the attention in the picture.

 

Bring me the horizon - Portrait photo - Photo portrait

Bring me The Horizon - Portrait photo Photo portrait

 

Before taking a portrait, you should know that you should use a focal length that does not distort the subject. Due to the distortion they cause, you should avoid taking pictures with short focal lengths and instead use a lens that has a focal length of at least 50mm.
Obviously, the use of a wide angle lens is generally prohibited in portrait photographyunless your goal is to intentionally distort your subject.
Also, keep in mind that getting closer to it increases the distortion effect. To start in portrait photography, I recommend using a zoom (preferably wide aperture) from the 50mm focal length or a fixed focal length lens.
I'm talking about the wide aperture, it's because the shallow depth of field it generates is important in portrait photography.

Where to focus in portrait?

To focus in portrait, aim at the eyes " the mirror of the soul ". And it needs to be sharp to maximize the effect. Take at least an eye on the 2 if you like to play with very shallow depths of field. You can highlight the person by photographing details (a strand of hair, etc.) to emphasize the subject, especially when using shallow depth of field.

 

portrait photo photographer

Photo portrait - Photo credit Eric CANTO

How to choose your subjects in portrait photography 

This conversation best starts with the question, "What kind of portrait are you going to create?" What end result are you looking for? If someone hires you, or has asked you to create their portrait, well, you have no choice on the subject. They are the "subject" of the portrait. In this case, your attention is better focused on three objectives.

• What kind of portrait do they want - what do you need?

• What logistical choices can you make to give your subject the portrait he asks for? For example, does this situation require a studio? What kind of composition does he need?

• Finally, given these parameters, what kind of equipment and techniques do you need to successfully provide your subject with the portrait style they are looking for? If you are creating a portrait for your portfolio,

It helps to know this in advance, so that you feel free to go wild and take whatever photos or people you want! In this situation, there are no rules. If you want deep shadows? Go for it! Would you like your subject to stand ankle deep in the mud in the middle of a field.
Why not.

 

How to frame a portrait?

When you make a portrait photo, start with a tight framing to highlight the face. You can then make a larger framing to put your subject in relation to its environment. Remember, however, to use a shallow depth of field to isolate it from the background.

Photographing a portrait is above all knowing a few basic rules, including the notions of framing and composition. For starters, I suggest you use the rule of thirds, so you don't get confused with the golden ratio.
This simple framing rule gives you a good working basis to make your images more harmonious. You are free to respect or not Knowing that in portrait photography, the important thing is above all to capture the eyes and facial expressions of the model.
Here is the whole difficulty of obtaining a beautiful portrait. Remember that the subject must grab your attention at all times to shoot at the right time.
In this case, you can afford to cut the upper part of the face by placing the eyes on the upper third of the image.
Personally, I prefer them tight portraits because they really do make room for a person's face and create real privacy, but in any case (even for a full-length photo) fill the frame with the object being photographed as much as possible, it will just pop to reinforce.

How to manage natural light in portrait?

Very important, natural light plays a lot to perfect a portrait photo. To get the most out of it, take your photo when the sun is slightly hazy or simply take the shade.

The goal is to soften the shadows. Avoid, on the other hand, the strong sun which tends to cause harsh shadows on the face.

A reflector can, moreover, enormously help you to succeed your photographs under the light. It's a small panel of white or silver fabric that will reflect the light where you want it.

It will bring light where there is none, thus allowing to illuminate the face of your subject in a very simple and flexible way when you take your portrait photo. It will also add that little sparkle of light in the eyes.

 

take a portrait photo - portrait photo

Photo portrait - Portrait photo - Photo credit Eric CANTO

Managing your model when taking a portrait photo

In addition to mastering technical skills, you must also know how to manage your model in portrait photography. This task is quite delicate, because it is the key to having very natural photos and succeeding in beautiful portrait photos. Know how to relax and de-stress your model.

The last exercise you have to do is help your model get comfortable. The key is to speak over and over again.

Not easy, but the idea is to establish a climate of complicity, to relax the person and gain their trust. So you have to be patient!

Portrait photo: Make your model laugh

Still a complicated task, especially since not everyone has a sense of humor. However, in portrait photo : we want at all costs to obtain a joyful expression on the face of his model.

The trick is to play on the unexpected. Instead of making your model laugh, surprise them by saying something completely unexpected! It works both with relatives and strangers.

 

Photo portrait - Photo credit Eric CANTO

Portrait photo - Photo portrait- Photo credit Eric CANTO

Obtain a natural expression

In portrait photo, this is what we are looking for the most: capture natural expression. To succeed in having one, here are some tips.

" Close your eyes "

Ask your model to close their eyes. When you are then ready to fire, you will ask him to open his eyes and fire immediately. Repeat several times until you have what you want.

 

"Think about ..." / "Visualize that"

The goal here is to find something that will cause your model to have the positive or negative emotion you want to show. To do this, have him visualize something or think of something. For newlyweds, tell them to "Close your eyes, and think about your honeymoon." You are both on the beach: think of the sun, the sound of the sea, the blowing of the wind on your skin. Now open your eyes. The result will be impressive!

 

"Give them a role to play"

To achieve a natural expression, this also works wonderfully. Paradoxically, ask your model to play a role! Put yourself in the shoes of a child, for example. You will see that he will free himself a little, he will detach himself from his ego and will be very comfortable. If you have the eye, you will end up catching one of his expressions during the photoshoots.

 

Pose in portrait photo

Posing is an art that truly takes more time and effort than can be accomplished in a single item. However, here are some portrait photo guidelines that will get you started in the right direction for a good pose.

This is where the “Shot List” is useful for pre-planning your portrait photo. Remember that on the day of your shoot, things can change. However, having a list of plans will keep you organized.

In portrait photography, there are standard guides for "cropping" or "framing" a portrait. This is important, as cropping can affect the pose. The standard guides are: head photo, head and shoulder photo, half body photo, three quarters body photo, full body photo, and a group photo. These are all pretty self-explanatory.

 

Portrait photo humorist pierre emmanuel barre Photo portrait

Portrait photo Pierre Emmanuel Barre Photo portrait

 

Do not cut the body where it bends.

If the portrait is meant to be "full length," be sure to include the entire body and give the image some space around the edges.

Here is a key point. Do not cut the body where it bends. If your portrait is a head shot, make your shot so tight that you can't see the neck “at all”, or include the entire neck for best results.

If your portrait is a head and shoulders shot, don't crop the subject at shoulder or elbow level. If your portrait is a half-length portrait, keep the full size in the photo and above the knees, or completely out of the photo (above the waist).

 

Portrait photo: Do not cut off your arms or hands.

 

olivia ruiz Portrait photo

Olivia Ruiz Portrait photo Portrait photo

 

If your portrait is full length, do not cut off the subject at the ankles. Other hot spots in the pose include upper arms, neck, and hand placement. If there is excess skin on the neck, try stretching the subject's neck.

Capture the subject so that the “stretch” appears normal and not out of place. For example, position the camera higher than the subject, so that when they stretch their necks, they are looking upward towards the camera.

The final effect is more natural by combining correct pose with the need to treat hot spots. If there is excess flesh on the arms, it will only be magnified if you pose the subject with the arms pressed to their body.

Keep your arms out of your body. This may be true even with subjects who have thin arms. Finally, nothing will kill your portrait faster than hands that your subject perceives as strange.

 

portrait photo michel jonasz

portrait photo Photo portrait - michel jonasz

 

This particular hot spot is only accentuated by the fact that most portrait subjects don't know what to do with their hands, and when they get nervous they will do strange things with their hands.

1. Do not push the hands towards the front of the body. This will make them look big and bulky.

2. Before clicking the shutter, look at the subject's hands. Are they tense or relaxed? Did they cross their fingers in a weird way?

3. If the subject is nervous, give them something to do. Place it on their knees or slide their thumbs into a pants pocket. Have them hold a prop.

If you are in “group photo mode”, carefully place each individual's hands on an individual next to them. You should be careful with this trick though. In a family portrait, everyone can hold onto each other.

In a business portrait, carefully consider all the touching options. The final considerations for posing are the subject's posture and legs. No one looks good standing as stiff as a plank. Work with your subject to relax into a normal body position.

 

professional concert photographer

Portrait photograph

 

Have them cross one leg over the other, or place one foot forward or to the side. Study portrait photography (which you enjoy) to see how the photographer worked with the subject's position, hands and feet. Here is a simple tip for posing groups of people.

Don't line them up. Think in terms of triangles. Study portrait photography (which you enjoy) to see how the photographer has worked with the subject's position, hands, and feet. Here is a simple tip for posing groups of people. Don't line them up. Think in terms of triangles.

Study portrait photography (which you enjoy) to see how the photographer has worked with the subject's position, hands, and feet. Here is a simple tip for posing groups of people. Don't line them up. Think in terms of triangles.

 

Some tips for posing your model during a portrait photo

Doing a photo portrait also requires a certain amount of instruction.

To get started you need:

  • Be specific in your instructions
  • As you go, guide your model, asking them precisely where they should position themselves or which direction they should look. Don't say “Look to the right” for example, but “Can you look at the post over there? (pointing to it) or "Can you turn your head towards the post over there, and then look at me but not move your head?" "
  • Make your models more beautiful

 

Photo portrait - Photo credit Eric CANTO

Photo portrait - photo portrait Photo credit Eric CANTO

Discover 4 practical tips to showcase your model in a portrait photo (because details matter!)

1. Photo portrait: Slightly lower your model's chin

Slightly lowering the chin makes people look better. It tends to draw the jawline better, slim the face, and hide a slight plumpness.

 

2.Portrait photo: The angle of view

To showcase your model, your viewing angle is important. Never photograph someone from a low angle (seen from below). Take your photo right in front of the person, slightly above (high angle view) or slightly below (low angle view).

 

3. Photo portrait: The "squinch"

For your model to have a more intense look, go for the squinch. This involves making him lift the lower eyelid, almost without the upper eyelid moving.

 

4.Photo portrait: Three-quarter or face-to-face pose

The position of the body also affects the way you will see the model, even if you are photographing a bust, for example.
- From the front, it will appear more imposing.
- At three quarters, the silhouette will be refined.

So here are some indications to start the portrait photo. It is not that complex, only one thing to keep in mind: to paint and remake the portrait. Test again and again, you will see, it's magic, we are improving day after day ...

 

 

 


Eric CANTO Photographer: Concert photos, portraits, album covers.

Visit my portfolio Visit the blog Visit the shop contact me

 

 

Other articles that may interest you:
Canon R5: All about the camera
Canon R5 2

Introduction to the Canon R5 The Canon CANON R5 is a great camera for professionals or anyone Read more

Photographing a concert: 6 tips for drummers
photograph a concert 6 tips drummer

Never mind that the drummers are often dimly lit and lash out behind an invading metal cage. Some of the Read more

20 photo tips for beginners
photograph a concert 6 tips drummer 1

Here are some photo tips, they're easy to understand, cover everything from beginner camera technique to Read more

Should we prefer the RAW file to the JPEG?
Why you should prefer RAW file to JPEG file 1 1

What is a RAW file? RAW file format is commonly used by experts and professional photographers Read more

en_USEnglish

Le portrait photo : ce qu’il y a à savoir pour commencer

Le portrait photo est une science difficile. Il n’y a pas de recette miracle mais plutôt une suite de petites choses à savoir.  Savoir capter le petit instant qui fait la beauté de quelqu’un, le regard qui trahit une émotion, l’attitude qui est propre à une personne…n’est cependant pas une tâche facile. Pour réussir un portrait photo, il en faut bien plus que le savoir-faire technique, mais pas que…

Découvrez dans cet article quelques infos pour essayé de faire un bon portrait lorsque l’on débute. Rien de miraculeux mais si vous souhaitez vous y mettre, voici quelques pistes.

 

portait photo

Portrait photo – Crédit photo Eric CANTO

La photographie de portrait peut être extrêmement enrichissante et en même temps extrêmement difficile. Alors que la plupart des autres genres photographiques reposent entièrement sur les idées, le talent et les techniques du photographe … Le portrait introduit un joker… le sujet.

Alors qu’un photographe de paysage peut passer du temps à bidouiller les réglages de son appareil photo, ou bien s’asseoir tout en grignotant, en attendant que la lumière soit parfaite, un photographe de portrait doit bouger!

Un «sujet» de portrait s’ennuiera et s’agitera s’il doit s’asseoir en attendant le photographe. Cela est particulièrement vrai pour les enfants, les gens d’affaires occupés, les personnes âgées et les animaux domestiques.

 

faire un portrait photo

Portrait photo – Crédit photo Eric CANTO

La technique du portrait photo

la plupart du temps, les portraits ne sont pas techniquement compliqués. Vous devez mettre en valeur votre model, le point fort qui prendra toute l’attention de l’image à moins que vous ne vouliez l’associer à un autre élément. L’essentiel est de mettre en valeur votre sujet. Qu’il occupe toute l’attention dans l’image.

Le portrait photo : les bases 4

 

Avant de prendre un portrait, vous devez savoir que vous devez utiliser une distance focale qui ne déforme pas le sujet. En raison de la distorsion qu’ils provoquent, vous devez éviter de prendre des photos avec des focales courtes mais plutôt utiliser un objectif qui a une distance focale d’au moins 50 mm.
De toute évidence, l’utilisation d’un objectif grand angle est généralement interdite en photographie de portrait, sauf si votre objectif est de déformer intentionnellement votre sujet.
Gardez également à l’esprit que le fait de vous en rapprocher augmente l’effet de distorsion. Pour commencer dans la photographie de portrait, je recommande d’utiliser un zoom (de préférence une grande ouverture) à partir de la distance focale 50 mm ou un objectif à focale fixe.
Je parle de la grande ouverture, c’est parce que la faible profondeur de champ qu’elle génère est importante en photo portrait.

Où faire la mise au point en portrait ?

Pour faire une mise au point en portrait, visez les yeux « le miroir de l’âme ». Et il faut qu’il soit net pour en maximiser l’effet. Prenez au moins un œil sur les 2 si vous aimez jouer avec de très faibles profondeurs de champ. Vous pouvez mettre en évidence la personne en photographiant des détails  (une mèche de cheveux, …etc.) afin de mettre le sujet en valeur,  en particulier lorsque vous utilisez une faible profondeur de champ.

 

portrait photo photographe

Portrait photo – Crédit photo Eric CANTO

Comment choisir vos sujets

Cette conversation commence le mieux par la question: «Quel type de portrait allez-vous créer? Quel résultat final recherchez-vous? » Si quelqu’un vous embauche, ou vous a demandé, de créer son portrait, eh bien, vous n’avez pas le choix sur le sujet. Ils sont le «sujet» du portrait. Dans ce cas, votre attention est mieux tournée vers trois objectifs.

• Quel type de portrait veulent-ils – de quoi avez-vous besoin?

• Quels choix logistiques pouvez-vous faire pour donner à votre sujet le portrait qu’il demande? Par exemple, cette situation nécessite-t-elle un studio? De quel type de composition a-t-il besoin?

• Enfin, compte tenu de ces paramètres, de quel type d’équipement et de techniques avez-vous besoin pour réussir à fournir à votre sujet le style de portrait qu’il recherche? Si vous créez un portrait pour votre portfolio,

Il est utile de le savoir à l’avance, de sorte que vous vous sentiez libre de vous déchaîner et de prendre les photos ou les personnes que vous voulez! Dans cette situation, il n’y a pas de règles. Si vous voulez des ombres profondes? Allez-y! Souhaitez-vous que votre sujet se tienne la cheville profondément dans la boue au milieu d’un champ.
Pourquoi pas.

 

Comment cadrer un portrait ?

Lorsque vous réalisez un portrait photo, commencez par un cadrage serré pour mettre en valeur le visage. Vous pouvez ensuite réaliser un cadrage plus large pour mettre votre sujet en relation avec son environnement. N’oubliez pas toutefois d’utiliser un profondeur de champ faible pour l’isoler de l’arrière-plan.

Photographier un portrait, c’est avant tout connaître quelques règles de base, dont les notions de cadrage et de compositions. Pour commencer, je vous suggère d’utiliser la règle des tiers, afin de ne pas vous confondre avec le nombre d’or.
Cette règle de cadrage simple vous offre une bonne base de travail pour rendre vos images plus harmonieuses. Vous êtes libre de respecter ou non Sachant qu’en photographie de portrait, l’important est avant tout de capter les yeux et les expressions faciales du modèle.
C’est ici voilà toute la difficulté d’obtenir un beau portrait. N’oubliez pas que le sujet doit attirer votre attention à tout moment pour photographier au bon moment.
Dans ce cas, vous pouvez vous permettre pour couper la partie supérieure du visage en plaçant les yeux sur le tiers supérieur de l’image.
Personnellement, je préfère les portraits serrés car ils font vraiment de la place pour le visage d’une personne et crée une véritable intimité, mais dans tous les cas (même pour une photo en pied) remplissez le cadre avec l’objet photographié autant que possible, il ne fera que se renforcer.

Comment gérer la lumière naturelle en portrait ?

Très important, la lumière naturelle joue beaucoup pour parfaire un portrait photo. Pour en profiter au maximum, prenez votre photo lorsque le soleil est légèrement voilé ou mettez-vous à l’ombre tout simplement.

Le but est d’adoucir les ombres. Évitez, par contre, le grand soleil qui a tendance à entraîner des ombres dures sur le visage.

Un réflecteur peut, par ailleurs, énormément vous aider à réussir vos photos sous la lumière. C’est un petit panneau de tissu blanc ou argenté qui va réfléchir la lumière là où vous voulez.

Il va apporter de la lumière là où il n’y en a pas, permettant ainsi d’éclairer le visage de votre sujet de manière très simple et flexible lorsque vous réalisez votre portrait photo. Il ajoutera également cette petite étincelle de lumière dans les yeux.

 

realiser un portrait photo

Portrait photo – Crédit photo Eric CANTO

La gestion de votre modèle lors de la réalisation d’un portrait photo

Outre la maîtrise de la technicité, il faut également savoir gérer votre modèle. Cette tâche est assez délicate, car elle est la clé pour avoir des photos bien naturelles et réussir de beaux portraits photos. Savoir détendre et déstresser votre modèle.

L’ultime exercice que vous avez à faire consiste à aider votre modèle à être à l’aise. Le maître mot est de parler, encore et encore.

Pas facile, mais l’idée est d’établir un climat de complicité, de détendre la personne et de gagner sa confiance. Il faut que vous soyez donc patient !

Faire rire votre modèle

Encore une tâche compliquée d’autant plus que tout le monde n’a pas le sens de l’humour. Or, en portrait photo : on veut à tout prix obtenir une expression joyeuse sur le visage de son modèle.

L’astuce c’est de jouer sur l’inattendu. Au lieu de faire rire votre modèle, étonnez-le plutôt en disant quelque chose de complètement inattendu ! Cela fonctionne tant auprès des proches qu’auprès des inconnus.

 

Portrait photo - Crédit photo Eric CANTO

Portrait photo – Crédit photo Eric CANTO

Obtenir une expression naturelle

En portrait photo, c’est ce qu’on recherche le plus : capturer une expression naturelle. Pour réussir à en avoir une, voici quelques astuces.

« Ferme les yeux »

Demandez à votre modèle de fermer les yeux. Lorsque vous serez ensuite prêt à déclencher, vous lui demanderez d’ouvrir les yeux et déclenchez immédiatement. Répétez plusieurs fois jusqu’à ce que vous ayez ce que vous souhaitez.

 

« Pense à… » / « Visualise ça »

Ici, le but est de trouver quelque chose qui va provoquer à votre modèle l’émotion positive ou négative que vous souhaitez montrer. Pour ce faire, demandez-lui de visualiser quelque chose ou bien de penser à quelque chose. Pour des jeunes mariés, dis-leur de « Fermez les yeux, et pensez à votre lune de miel. Vous êtes tous les deux sur la plage : pensez au soleil, au bruit de la mer, au souffle du vent sur votre peau. Maintenant, ouvrez les yeux. »Le résultat sera impressionnant !

 

« Donnez leur un rôle à jouer »

Pour obtenir une expression naturelle, ceci marche également à merveille. Demandez à votre modèle de jouer un rôle, assez paradoxalement ! Se mettre dans la peau d’un enfant, par exemple. Vous verrez qu’il se libérera un peu, il se détachera de son ego et sera bien à l’aise. Si vous avez l’œil, vous finirez par saisir une de ses expressions lors des séances photos.

 

Poser en portrait photo

Poser est un art qui demande vraiment plus de temps et d’efforts que ce qui peut être accompli en un seul article. Cependant, voici quelques lignes directrices pour le portrait photo qui vous permettront de démarrer dans la bonne direction pour une bonne pose.

C’est là que la «Shot List», est utile pour la planification préalable de votre portrait photo . N’oubliez pas que le jour même de votre shooting, les choses peuvent changer. Cependant, avoir une liste de plans vous permettra de rester organisé.

En portrait photo, il existe des guides standard pour le «recadrage» ou le «cadre» d’un portrait. Ceci est important, car le recadrage peut affecter la pose. Les guides standard sont: la photo de la tête, la photo de la tête et des épaules, celle de la moitié du corps, celle de trois quarts du corps, celle de tout le corps et une photo de groupe. Ce sont tous assez explicites.

 

Portrait photo humoriste pierre emmanuel barre

Portrait photo Pierre Emmanuel Barre

 

Ne coupez pas le corps là où il se plie. Si le portrait est censé être «pleine longueur», assurez-vous d’inclure tout le corps et de donner à l’image un peu d’espace sur les bords.

Voici un point clé. Ne coupez pas le corps là où il se plie. Si votre portrait est une photo dans la tête, rendez votre photo cadrée si serrée que vous ne voyez pas le cou “ du tout ”, ou incluez tout le cou pour de meilleurs résultats.

Si votre portrait est une photo de la tête et des épaules, ne recadrez pas le sujet au niveau des épaules ou des coudes. Si votre portrait est un portrait en demi-longueur, gardez toute la taille dans la photo et au-dessus des genoux, ou complètement hors de la photo (au-dessus de la taille).

Ne coupez pas les bras ou les mains.

 

olivia ruiz Portrait photo

Olivia Ruiz Portrait photo

 

Si votre portrait est en pleine longueur, ne coupez pas le sujet au niveau des chevilles. Les autres points chauds de la pose comprennent le haut des bras, le cou et le placement des mains. S’il y a un excès de peau sur le cou, essayez de faire étirer le cou du sujet.

Capturez le sujet de sorte que l ‘«étirement» semble normal et pas déplacé. Par exemple, placez l’appareil photo plus haut que le sujet, de sorte que lorsqu’ils étirent leur cou, ils regardent vers le haut vers l’appareil photo.

L’effet final est plus naturel en combinant une pose correcte avec la nécessité de traiter les points chauds. S’il y a un excès de chair sur les bras, il ne sera amplifié que si vous posez le sujet avec les bras pressés contre son corps.

Gardez les bras hors du corps. Cela peut être vrai même avec des sujets qui ont des bras fins. Enfin, rien ne tuera votre portrait plus rapidement que des mains que votre sujet perçoit comme étranges.

 

portrait michel jonasz

 

Ce point chaud particulier est seulement accentué par le fait que la plupart des sujets de portrait ne savent pas quoi faire de leurs mains et, lorsqu’ils deviennent nerveux, ils feront des choses étranges avec leurs mains.

1. Ne poussez pas les mains vers l’avant du corps. Cela les fera paraître grands et encombrants.

2. Avant de cliquer sur l’obturateur, regardez les mains du sujet. Sont-ils crispés ou détendus? Ont-ils croisé les doigts d’une manière étrange?

3. Si le sujet est nerveux, donnez-lui quelque chose à faire. Placez-le sur leurs genoux ou faites-leur glisser leur pouce dans une poche de pantalon. Demandez-leur de tenir un accessoire.

Si vous êtes en «mode photo de groupe», placez soigneusement les mains de chaque individu sur un individu à côté d’eux. Vous devez cependant faire attention à cette astuce. Dans un portrait de famille, tout le monde peut s’accrocher l’un à l’autre.

Dans un portrait d’entreprise, considérez attentivement toutes les options touchantes. Les dernières considérations pour poser sont la posture et les jambes du sujet. Personne n’a l’air bien debout raide comme une planche. Travaillez avec votre sujet pour qu’il se détende dans une position corporelle normale.

 

photographe professionnel concert

 

Demandez-leur de croiser une jambe sur l’autre, ou placez un seul pied en avant ou sur le côté. Étudiez la photographie de portrait (que vous appréciez) pour voir comment le photographe a travaillé avec la position, les mains et les pieds du sujet. Voici une astuce simple pour poser des groupes de personnes.

Ne les alignez pas. Pensez en termes de triangles. Étudiez la photographie de portrait (que vous appréciez) pour voir comment le photographe a travaillé avec la position, les mains et les pieds du sujet. Voici une astuce simple pour poser des groupes de personnes. Ne les alignez pas. Pensez en termes de triangles.

Étudiez la photographie de portrait (que vous appréciez) pour voir comment le photographe a travaillé avec la position, les mains et les pieds du sujet. Voici une astuce simple pour poser des groupes de personnes. Ne les alignez pas. Pensez en termes de triangles.

 

Quelques astuces pour faire poser votre modèle lors d’un portrait photo

Faire du portrait photo nécessite par ailleurs de donner une certaine instruction.

Pour s’y mettre il faut :

  • Être précis dans vos instructions
  • Au fur et à mesure, guidez votre modèle, en lui demandant avec précision où il doit se positionner ou vers quelle direction il doit regarder. Ne dites pas « Regarde à droite » par exemple, mais « Est-ce que tu peux regarder le poteau là-bas ? (en le montrant)ou encore « Est-ce que tu peux tourner la tête vers le poteau là-bas, et ensuite me regarder mais sans bouger la tête ? »
  • Rendre vos modèles plus beaux

 

Portrait photo - Crédit photo Eric CANTO

Portrait photo – Crédit photo Eric CANTO

Découvrez 4 conseils pratiques pour mettre votre modèle en valeur lors d’un portrait photo (car les détails comptent !)

1. Portrait photo : Faire baisser légèrement le menton de votre model

Faire baisser légèrement le menton rend les gens plus beaux. Cela a tendance à mieux dessiner la ligne de la mâchoire, à affiner le visage et masquer un léger embonpoint.

 

2. Portrait photo : L’angle de vue

Pour mettre en valeur votre modèle, votre angle de vue est important. Ne photographiez jamais quelqu’un en contre-plongée (vu de dessous). Prenez votre photo pile face à la personne, légèrement au-dessus (en plongée) ou légèrement en-dessous (en contre-plongée).

 

3. Portrait photo : Le « squinch »

Pour que votre modèle ait un regard plus intense, optez pour le squinch. Il s’agit de lui faire relever la paupière inférieure, quasiment sans que la paupière supérieure ne bouge.

 

4. Portrait photo : Pose de trois quarts ou de face

La position du corps joue aussi sur la manière dont vous verrez le modèle, et ce, même si vous photographiez un buste par exemple.
– De face, il va paraître plus imposant.
– A trois quart, la silhouette va s’affiner.

Voila donc quelques indications pour commencer le portrait photo. Ce n’est pas si complexe que cela, une seule chose à garder en tête : faire et refaire du portrait. Testez encore et encore, vous allez voir, c’est magique, on progresse jour après jour…

 


 

Besoin de quelques inspirations ? Découvrez les portraits photos réalisés par le photographe Eric Canto :

Découvrir le Porfolio du photographe / Visiter le shop / Visiter le Blog En savoir plus sur le photographe / Contact

Articles similaires
hellfest festival

Festival de musique :  Une météo incertaine, plusieurs jours de concert, des artistes à fond et un public déchaîné, les Read more

festival de nimes 2020

Faire des photos live peut être très excitant...Imaginez-vous debout à quelques mètres de votre idole que vous prenez en photo. Read more

phot live

Voici quelques conseils pour des prises de photos live  qui marquent. L'ajout de petites finesses à la façon dont vous Read more

Comment demander une accréditation photo pour un concert 3

Comment demander une accréditation photo pour un concert : un pass photo ? Demander une accréditation photo est une tâche Read more

error: