The photographic studio Studio Harcourt Paris

the Studio Harcourt Paris (formerly Studio Harcourt) is a Photo studio founded in Paris in 1934 by the photographer Germaine Hirschfeld (known as Cosette Harcourt), Robert Ricci and the brothers Jacques and Jean Lacroix. Timeless, it maintains the fundamental values which have made the success of the photo studio and its reputation: the requirement of excellence, respect for aesthetics and French elegance.

 

studio harcourt

The history of the studio

The Harcourt studio was founded in 1934 in the very chic 8th arrondissement of Paris, Rue Christophe-Colomb. the Studio Harcourt photo studio Paris is the result of the union of Jacques and Jean Lacroix, experienced press officers with the visionary instinct, of the businessman Robert Ricci (son of the tailor Nina Ricci) and of Germaine Hirschfeld alias Cosette Harcourt (1900-1976). This avant-garde, modern and daring photographer worked in the studio of the Manuel brothers.

For the record, Cosette Harcourt married one of the Lacroix brothers before World War II. Together they created a magazine called Vedettes, which serves as the basis for studio photographs. During the occupation, German officers and figures from the Vichy regime visited the studios, as did the Americans during the liberation. The couple divorced in 1945.

The aesthetics of Studio Harcourt Paris feeds on the glamorous roots of the golden age of French cinema in black and white. Often imitated but never equaled, the Harcourt style is a promise of eternity, an iconographic reference that has become over the years an essential signature.

The Harcourt label is a real institution, now known as the “Living Heritage Company”. It is part of the collective subconscious and continues its quest for timelessness and shapes the imagination of time. The legend is a visual reminder of great artistic figures, cultural and political events of the 20th century and proof that defies the passage of time

 

studio harcourt paris photo

studio harcourt photo

studio harcourt paris

 

The characteristics of Studio Harcourt Paris

Today located at 6, rue de Lota in the 16th arrondissement of Paris, it holds the “Living Heritage Company” label for its excellent craftsmanship and industrial know-how.

This' workshop of ar portraitst ”produced images for the press whose donors came at a time when renowned photo studios like Reutlinger were closed for lack of clients. Thanks to Cosette Harcourt's address book, the studio has specialized in black and white photographs of Parisian and French personalities from the cinema and the cultural environment.

Studio Harcourt produces prints in 24 × 30 cm format, recognizable by their particular style, and underlines them with a pronounced chiaroscuro. The studio owes a lot to still photographer Raymond Voinquel.

The Harcourt style is characterized by a close-up of the subject, taken at the best angle, often from three-quarters and / or a low angle, and illuminated by light from cinema projectors, usually arranged to the side or in the halo, on a gray to black gradient background.

Studio Harcourt still meets the same notoriety after more than sixty years of existence. This success is the fruit of a constant effort of artists and craftsmen and not only that of a nostalgic fad. Indeed, Harcourt Studios can boast of more than 450,000 clients from all over the world. The archives containing more than six million negatives were bought by the State in 1989 and then in 1991.

 

 

Contact Harcourt

Studio Harcourt Paris // 6 rue de Lota 75116 Paris

contact@studio-harcourt.eu // + 33 (0) 1 42 56 67 67

Official site : Studio Harcourt Paris

 


 

Eric CANTO Photographer: Concert photos, portraits, album covers.

 

Visit my portfolio Visit the blog Visit the shop contact me

 

Other articles that may interest you:
Jean-Marie Perier : Itinéraire d’un photographe gâté
Jean Marie Perier 20

Jean-Marie Perier, son histoire en quelques mots... Jean-Marie Perier est né à Neuilly en 1940. Il débute sa carrière comme Read more

VIVIAN MAIER: Une photographe d’exception
Vivian Maier

Percer le mystére de la vie de Vivian Maier peut facilement évoquer la célèbre citation de Churchill sur le vaste Read more

Pierre et Gilles: 30 years of Photos
Pierre et Gilles 30 years of Photos, exhibitions and publications.

[et_pb_text admin_label="Text" _builder_version="3.27.4" background_size="initial" background_position="top_left" Read more
Annie Leibovitz Photographer
annie leibovitz photography

Presentation of the photographer Annie Leibovitz The photos of Annie Leibovitz tell the story of public life for the past 40 years Read more

en_USEnglish
Visit the shop

Le studio photographique Studio Harcourt Paris

Le Studio Harcourt Paris (anciennement Studio Harcourt) est un studio photo fondé à Paris en 1934 par la photographe Germaine Hirschfeld (dite Cosette Harcourt), Robert Ricci et les frères Jacques et Jean Lacroix. Intemporel, il maintient les valeurs fondamentales qui ont fait le succès du studio photo et sa réputation: l’exigence d’excellence, le respect de l’esthétique et l’élégance à la française.

 

studio harcourt

L’histoire du studio

Le studio Harcourt a été fondé en 1934 dans le très chic 8ème arrondissement de Paris, Rue Christophe-Colomb.  Le studio photo Studio Harcourt Paris est le fruit de l’union de Jacques et Jean Lacroix, des attachés de presse expérimentés à l’instinct visionnaire, de l’homme d’affaires Robert Ricci (fils du tailleur Nina Ricci) et de Germaine Hirschfeld alias Cosette Harcourt (1900-1976). Cette photographe avant-gardiste, moderne et audacieuse travaillait dans l’atelier des frères Manuel.

Pour la petite histoire, Cosette Harcourt a épousé l’un des frères Lacroix avant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Ensemble, ils ont créé un magazine appelé Vedettes, qui sert de base aux photographies du studio. Pendant l’occupation, des officiers allemands et des personnalités du régime de Vichy ont visité les studios, tout comme les Américains lors de la libération. Le couple a divorcé en 1945.

L’esthétique du Studio Harcourt Paris se nourrit des racines glamour de l’âge d’or du cinéma français en noir et blanc. Souvent imité mais jamais égalé, le style Harcourt est une promesse d’éternité, une référence iconographique devenue au fil des années une signature incontournable.

Le label Harcourt est une véritable institution, désormais connue sous le nom de “Living Heritage Company”. Il fait partie du subconscient collectif et poursuit sa quête d’intemporalité et façonne l’imaginaire du temps. La légende est un rappel visuel des grandes figures artistiques, culturelles et politiques du XXe siècle et une preuve qui défie le passage du temps

 

studio harcourt paris photo

studio harcourt photo

studio harcourt paris

 

Les caractéristiques du Studio Harcourt Paris

Situé aujourd’hui au 6, rue de Lota dans le 16e arrondissement de Paris, il est détenteur du label « Entreprise du patrimoine vivant » pour son savoir-faire artisanal et industriel d’excellence.

Cet «atelier de portraits d’art» a produit des images pour la presse dont ses donateurs venaient à un moment où des studios photo renommés comme Reutlinger étaient fermés faute de clients. Grâce au carnet d’adresses de Cosette Harcourt, le studio s’est spécialisé dans les photographies en noir et blanc de personnalités parisiennes et françaises du cinéma et de l’environnement culturel.

Le Studio Harcourt produit des tirages au format 24 × 30 cm, reconnaissables à leur style particulier, et les souligne avec un clair-obscur prononcé. Le studio doit beaucoup au photographe de plateau Raymond Voinquel.

Le style Harcourt se caractérise par un gros plan du sujet, pris sous le meilleur angle, souvent à partir des trois quarts et / ou d’un angle faible, et éclairé par une lumière de projecteurs de cinéma, généralement disposés sur le côté ou dans le halo , sur un fond dégradé gris à noir.

Le Studio Harcourt rencontre toujours la même notoriété au bout de plus de soixante années d’existence. Ce succès est le fruit d’un effort constant d’artistes et d’artisans et non pas uniquement celui d’un effet de mode nostalgique. En effet, les Studios Harcourt peuvent se targuer de plus de 450 000 clients, venant du monde entier. Les archives comportant plus de six millions de négatifs ont été rachetées par l’Etat en 1989 puis en 1991.

 

 

Contact Harcourt

Studio Harcourt Paris  // 6 rue de Lota  75116 Paris

contact@studio-harcourt.eu // + 33 (0)1 42 56 67 67

Site officiel : Studio Harcourt Paris

 


 

Eric CANTO Photographe : Photos de concert, portraits, pochettes d’album.

 

Visitez mon portfolio Visitez le blog Visitez le shop Contactez moi

 

error: