Rammstein concert in South of France Arena To Montpellier : Back in image on an impressive concert.

Tuesday 23 April 2013, the German group of gothic industrial metal Rammstein filled the arena with flammables and spectators. No less than 12,000 fans came from all over the Great South to take part in their unparalleled fireworks display. Park & ​​Suites Arena was VERY HOT!

 

Rammstein live -Photo credit Eric CANTO

Rammstein concert Sud de France Arena in Montpellier

The Rammstein group

Rammstein is a metal group German industrialist from Berlin. The company, founded in 1994, has since the beginning six members of the GDR. He is described as belonging to the genus Neue Deutsche Härte and is the best known representative. The lyrics of the band are mostly in German, they are also the best-selling German-speaking group in the world with almost 20 million albums sold, but sometimes they also have lyrics in English, French, Spanish or even Russian.

Famous for his concerts, which multiply the pyrotechnic effects and creative productions, Rammstein will list seven studio albums from 2019, the music of which is often considered industrial metal. However, the exact classification is controversial, as it also has strong influences on electronic music, rock or even pop as it has developed over the course of the albums. He has enjoyed international success since his second album Sehnsucht in 1997 and even toured the world for his sixth album Liebe Ist Für Alle Da between 2009 and 2011.

 

Rammstein-concert-rammstein-live-photos- eric-canto-photographer

Rammstein live -Photo credit Eric CANTO

 

However, this success was accompanied by controversy from the start, especially allegations that linked the group to National Socialism, due to alleged correlations in their visual language (which is also the case for the Slovenian group Ljubljana, from which he drew inspiration) and with allegations of incitement to violence linked to the shooting at Columbine High School.

Rammstein has always denied any connection with any form of racism or support for violence, and has defined himself above all as an artist who does not want to convey a message, and it is generally recognized that controversy is more a taste for provocation and unfortunate interpretations of a contained ideology.

 

 

Rammstein Official Site - Rammstein Tickets

Ramstein-concert-live-photos- eric-canto-photographer

Rammstein concert Sud de France Arena in Montpellier

An impressive Rammstein live ide

After last year's excellent best-of-tour, Rammstein has expanded his tour with more dates, including several in France, for our greatest pleasure! Rammstein has really become a "public" group, in the sense that there are children, old people, high heels, Goths. However, the group does not change its recipe, still visually and musically violent, no concessions.

The live is impressive, the sound, the light, enormously the pyrotechnics used with the flames galore, the fantastic return of the strap-on, the liters and liters on the back of the keyboard while "Buck up," the interpretation. perfect of each song… in short, always an overall performance of a great level with the arrival of the singer on a descending platform, wrapped in a pink feather jacket… Or the fireworks vertically on the stage behind each member of the group!

A unifying group, great art, overpowering metal.

Rammstein is a prime example of a group that has reached internationally renowned heights, while steadfastly refusing to compromise their vision or bow to any preconceived notions of what a stratospheric hit group should do.

Pioneers of the 'Neue Deutsche Härte' (New German Hardness) movement of the mid-90s, alongside Oomph !, Megaherz and Stahlhammer, the Rammstein mix of alternative metal, groove and electronica was the only example of its kind to reach a truly seismic global audience. .

 

Rammstein-concert-rammstein-live-photos-

Rammstein live -Photo credit Eric CANTO

The Rammstein tour

The 2013 European tour started in Barcelona, Spain. The first part is provided by DJ Joe Letz.

04/14/2013 - Spain, Barcelona, Palau Sant Jordi
04/16/2013 - Portugal, Lisbon, Atlantico Pavilion
19/04/2013 - Spain, Bilbao, BEC
21/04/2013 - Spain, Madrid, Palacio Deportes
04 / 23/2013 - France, Montpellier, Park & ​​Suites Arena
04/24/2013 - France, Lyon, La Halle Tony Garnier
04/26/2013 - Italy, Bologna, Unipol Arena
04/28/2013 - Serbia, Belgrade, Kombank Arena
04/30/2013 - Slovenia, Ljubljana, Stozice Center
04/05/2013 - Germany, Wolfsburg, KraftWerk
05/05/2013 - Germany, Wolfsburg, KraftWerk
07/07/2013 - France, Nancy, Zenith-Amphitheater Plein Air

Rammstein live -Photo credit Eric CANTO

Rammstein live -Photo credit Eric CANTO

Rammstein concert: the setlist 

- Ich you say weh
- Wollt ihr das Bett in Flammen sehen?
- Keine Lust
- Sehnsucht
- Asche zu Asche
- Feuer frei!
-Mein Teil
- Ohne dich
- Du riechst so gut
- Wiener Blut
- Benzin
- Links 2-3-4
- From hast
- Bück dich
- Ich will

Reminder: Mein Herz brennt (Piano Version) // Sonne // Pussy.

south of France Arena To Montpellier - Capacity 15,000 people
Opening act DJ Joe Letz - Concert time 8:00 p.m. - Ticket prices € 61.50

Rammstein Discography / Rammstein Album

  • 1995 Herzeleid - Released: September 24, 1995 - Label: Motor Music - Format: CD, K7
  • 1997 Sehnsucht - Released: August 22, 1997 - Label: Motor Music - Format: CD, K7
  • 2001 Mutter - Released: April 2, 2001 - Label: Motor Music - Format: CD, K7, LP
  • 2004 Reise, Reise - Release: September 27, 2004 - Label: Universal Music - Format: CD
  • 2005 Rosenrot - Release: October 28, 2005 - Label: Universal Music - Format: CD
  • 2009 Liebe ist für alle da - Release: October 16, 2009 - Label: Universal Music - Format: CD
  • 2019 Rammstein - Release: May 17, 2019 - Label: Universal Music - Format: CD

 

Rammstein Official site  : https://www.rammstein.de/en/

Rammstein Tickets : https://www.rammstein.de/en/tickets/

 

Rammstein Official Site - Rammstein Tickets

Rammstein live -Photo credit Eric CANTO

 

 


 

Eric CANTO Photographer: Concert photos, portraits, album covers.

 

Visit my portfolio Visit the blog Visit the shop contact me

 

Bonus: Melodie Maker review for the release of Rammstein's live PARIS

 
Paris is a modern masterpiece of musical cinema: a live concert filmed with all the flair and elegance of a music video. Shot by acclaimed director and former member of Swedish black metal band Bathory Jonas Akerlund, the film uses quick cuts, close-ups, dramatic colorings and CGI effects to create a more vibrant-than-real experience.

Using 25 cameras and shot over two nights at the Palais Omnisports de Paris-Bercy, Akerlund explains his concept for Paris as "shooting a live show (while) trying to translate the energy you get in the venue to film ”.

He explains, “I try with every trick in the book to make as many impressions as possible on the audience. "

Watching Paris is certainly a visceral and confusing experience, as if a show with giant penises gushing out, enough pyro to destroy a small country and keyboardist Christian 'Flake' Lorenz cooking in a fire pot just isn't visually stimulating enough.

Akerlund's background in music videos undoubtedly contributes to the striking aesthetic that has previously worked with the group on their video promotions for "Ich Tu Dir Weh", "Mein Land" and the controversial porn parody "Pussy".

"It was mainly Jonas' vision and visual ideas," says Rammstein drummer Christoph Schneider. “We gave him creative control and said, 'This is your movie, you're a great filmmaker and editor, so you do it the way you see it.'

“Having that quick cut and heavy editing seemed like too much for the duration of a show, so we got involved a bit and changed things up here and there, but we didn't really change it really.”

 

“He has a good eye for detail and focuses on the things you can't see when you're in the audience. So Jonas started cutting things very quickly and making them very edgy; when we first saw it we were very shocked at how fast the cut was and how difficult it was to follow and digest it.

Despite some reservations about the final cut, Rammstein has nothing but respect for Akerlund and his take on their live show. Guitarist Paul Landers praises his visual fluidity and puts the patience required for a project of this magnitude to the technical competence of the Swedes.

While this may seem like a perfectly normal process for most bands, loyal Rammstein fans know they rarely give up a lot of creative control. The six members of the group feel that all of the things marked with the Rammstein banner align with the vision and myths they created.

Allowing Akerlund to spread with his creative vision led to the most striking visual portrayal of Rammstein to date - a feat, considering that there are already 4 DVDs with live footage available commercially. So why did they feel the need to do another one?

“You create them for history,” explains Schneider. “If anyone 20 years into the future wants to know what Rammstein looked like, here's a visual document to look at. "

Rammstein is currently writing his untitled seventh studio album. Little is known about the album outside of Rammstein's inner circle, but given the eight-year gap since their last album, anticipation is at an all-time high for the band's new music.

What we know: 28 song ideas have been sketched out for the recording, 24 of which already have lyrics. Landers describes them as "not ready to record, but live!" Some of them are bare pieces of songs, some are pretty much done.

But don't expect a sprawling, epic effort on a double album; if a general theme comes to the fore during these early stages of disc creation, it cuts down on fat and hones things down to the basics.

Schneider points out, “It's kind of a secret in Rammstein's music to be clear and get rid of the ballast and focus on what's there, which makes it harder and has more impact. This time it's easier, because we've got along really well in recent years.

“Maybe it's coming back to age; you try not to change your friends or colleagues anymore, then you accept them more as they are and give them the space they need. "

"For the moment, it is almost an unbearable harmony in this group", launches Länder with a mischievous smile.

A sense of euphony was established in part through a producer's assignment to oversee not the recording, but the writing sessions. Olsen Involtini has worked with the band before to arrange strings for Mutter and Reise, Reise, create remixes and design their live sound; his history of working with the group makes Involtini a perfect mediator for launching creative ideas between the two.

“He's a good friend of ours,” explains Schneider. “He produces hip-hop and pop music in Germany and he also plays guitar. He has a lot of good qualities so we brought him in to lead the rehearsal and work with us on the songs.

“If the two of us don't agree, we take the direction he likes. Often we got lost in the making of something; there would be 20 different versions of a song and it would help us focus on what worked and what didn't. "

Landers quickly adds: “Writing in Rammstein is always democratic… not easy, but democratic. We are like greedy dogs. But with Olsen leading the rehearsal, we don't have to fight that much - we just follow his lead. It helps us focus and avoid unnecessary fights. "

This last part in particular is probably a crucial part of Involtini's role; the tensions in the studio during the premiere of the Liebe ist für alle 2009 seem to have been the main driver of Rammstein's long hiatus. (Landers describes the writing of the album as making a collage next to an open window; the wind continues to scatter the pieces, making it difficult to put them together.)

Rumors started to emerge around 2014-2015 that the group was breaking up - no doubt fueled by selected members of the group working on various musical projects outside of Rammstein.

“We also heard this rumor,” says Landers, “but it never really was. But that rumor continued because we didn't release a record, but Till (Lindemann, singer) and Richard (Kruspe, guitarist) did and it fueled the fire even more.

“But we weren't really in danger of breaking up; we just had a few years off. For me, Rammstein's future was never in question, not even a little. "

So what was the catalyst for bringing the six members of Rammstein together to start working on their seventh album?

“The way I tend to say it,” says Landers, “is that the four of us who hadn't set a record at the time were hungry. Till and Richard didn't want to go to a restaurant because they had already eaten, but the four of us said, "We're hungry!" So they agreed to come. We compromised and said, “Let's start with three or four songs and see what it feels like without pressure. And that felt good, and now we have 28 song ideas. "

“The group had particularly bad memories of the last production,” adds Schneider, referring to Liebe ist für alle. “It took a long time and there was a lot of discussion. We would lose track of things very easily and no one wanted to jump right into this situation. Everyone was afraid that if we started writing another album, we would start all these little fights all over again. But that has changed now, and with Olsen's contribution, we don't fight so hard anymore - no one is killing each other to take their part on the others. " 

While the majority of the band's songs are written in their native language, their music transcends any language barrier; Rammstein is one of a small handful of groups capable of selling arenas across the world without the aid of songs written in English.

Their overwhelming international popularity far exceeds the expectations of most bands outside of the Anglosphere, and is proof (if at all) of the power of music to communicate on a universal playing field.

Landers succinctly sums up the band's broad appeal when he describes his approach to writing Rammstein's delightfully simple, yet tastefully executed riffs: “One thing I try to think of when we write songs is this. how it will be to play live. If you stand at home and play a loud chord that sounds good, you feel powerful! But if you're sitting down and picking gently, it's not doing you good.

“We try to have more moments in Rammstein music that make you feel good; if it looks good, it sounds as good. "

This relatively simple formula, alongside a conquering show that many will attest to is one of the best shows in the world of live music, ensures that Rammstein will continue to beat all the odds and will remain one of the most famous proposals. and unique in metal.

Often the show is so (literally) explosive, it seemingly overshadows the quality and sheer daring of German sextet songwriting. But it is to underestimate the acerbic spirit of "Mein Teil", the orchestral audacity of "Mein Herz brennt", the delicate beauty of "Ohne Dich" or the outright punch of "Sonne", a 16 year old song that sounds as dynamic and powerful as it was in 2001.

Is it irritating that the band's intricate songwriting is overshadowed by the sheer dominance of their fiery show? “We put as much effort into the music as into the show,” explains Schneider. “Just like we put so much effort into photos, lights, videos because we know they all go together. Each element has its role to play and supports each other. "

“You can't force people to react in a certain way to what you put in front of them,” Landers adds. “We live in a free world and people have the right not to listen. We know that sometimes the show overshadows the music, and we try not to let that happen. But the music is very good to me, and we try to have a balance between the two.

“If you meet a beautiful woman with blonde hair and big breasts, you might start talking to her because of her looks, but then you find out that she is smart, funny, and kindhearted. We're trying to Rammstein to be the blonde with a brain. "

Paris is now available on DVD and Blu-Ray through Spinefarm Records.

Other articles that may interest you:
Book Mass Hysteria - 10 years of Furia
book mass hysteria furia

"It is a way of the cross, a" remountada ", that this superb book retraces in the most beautiful way. Read more

MASS HYSTERIA BLACK MATTER
ARTWORK MASS HYSTERIA BLACK MATERIAL

MASS HYSTERIA MATière NOIRE: the eighth album French metal flagship group, MASS HYSTERIA Matière noire is the eighth Read more

Mass Hysteria Hellfest 2019
mass hysteria hellfest 2019 album

Album cover for the group Mass Hysteria Hellfest 2019. Happy to present my 11th cover for the group Mass Hysteria. Read more

Ghost: Videos, live photos, biography…
ghost band

Ghost, what is it? Ghost band is a metal band that formed in 2006 in the small town Read more

en_USEnglish

Rammstein concert à Sud de France Arena à Montpellier : Retour en image sur un concert impressionnant.

Mardi 23 avril 2013, le groupe allemand de métal industriel gothique Rammstein a rempli l’aréna de produits inflammables et de spectateurs. Pas moins de 12 000 fans sont venus de tout le Grand Sud pour participer à leur spectacle pyrotechnique inégalé. Park & ​​Suites Arena était très chaud !

 

Rammstein live -Crédit photo Eric CANTO

Rammstein concert Sud de France Arena à Montpellier

Le groupe.

Rammstein est un groupe de métal industriel allemand de Berlin. L’entreprise, fondée en 1994, compte depuis le début six membres de la RDA. Il est décrit comme appartenant au genre Neue Deutsche Härte et est le représentant le plus connu. Les paroles du groupe sont principalement en allemand, c’est aussi le groupe germanophone le plus vendu au monde avec près de 20 millions d’albums vendus, mais parfois il contient également des paroles en anglais, français, espagnol ou même russe.

Connu pour ses concerts, qui multiplient les effets pyrotechniques et les productions créatives, Rammstein listera sept albums studio à partir de 2019, dont la musique est souvent considérée comme du métal industriel. Cependant, la classification exacte est controversée, car elle a également de fortes influences sur la musique électronique, le rock ou même la pop telle qu’elle s’est développée au fil des albums. Il connaît un succès international depuis son deuxième album Sehnsucht en 1997 et a même fait une tournée mondiale pour son sixième album Liebe Ist Für Alle Da entre 2009 et 2011.

 

Rammstein-concert-rammstein-live-photos- eric-canto-photographe

Rammstein live -Crédit photo Eric CANTO

 

Cependant, ce succès s’est accompagné d’une controverse dès le départ, en particulier des allégations qui ont lié le groupe au national-socialisme, en raison de prétendues corrélations dans leur langage visuel (ce qui est également le cas pour le groupe slovène Ljubljana, dont il s’est inspiré) et avec des allégations d’incitation à la violence liée au tournage à Columbine High School.

Rammstein a toujours nié tout lien avec toute forme de racisme ou de soutien à la violence, et s’est défini avant tout comme un artiste qui ne veut pas transmettre un message, et il est généralement reconnu que la controverse est plus un goût pour la provocation et des interprétations malheureuses d’une idéologie contenu.

 

 

Rammstein Site officiel - Rammstein Tickets

Ramstein-concert-live-photos- eric-canto-photographe

Rammstein concert Sud de France Arena à Montpellier

Un  live impressionnant

Après l’excellent best-of-tour de l’année dernière, Rammstein a élargi sa tournée avec plus de dates, dont plusieurs en France, pour notre plus grand plaisir ! Rammstein est vraiment devenu un groupe “public”, dans le sens où il y a des enfants, des personnes âgées, des talons aiguilles, des Goths. Néanmoins le groupe ne change pas sa recette, toujours aussi violent visuellement et musicalement aucune concession.

Le live est impressionnant,  le son, la lumière, énormément les moyens pyrotechniques utilisés avec les flammes à gogo, le fantastique retour du gode-ceinture, les litres et les litres sur le dos du clavier tandis que « Buck up, » l’interprétation parfaite de chaque chanson … bref, toujours performance globale d’un grand niveau avec l’arrivée du chanteur sur une plateforme descendante, enveloppée dans une veste en plumes rose…  Ou le feu d’artifice verticalement sur la scène derrière chaque membre du groupe !

Un groupe rassembleur, du grand art, du métal surpuissant.

Rammstein est un excellent exemple d’un groupe qui a atteint des sommets de renommée internationale, tout en refusant résolument de compromettre sa vision ou de se plier à toute notion préconçue de ce qu’un groupe à succès stratosphérique devrait faire.

Pionniers du mouvement «Neue Deutsche Härte» (nouvelle dureté allemande) du milieu des années 90, aux côtés d’Oomph !, Megaherz et Stahlhammer, le mélange Rammstein de métal alternatif, de groove et d’electronica était le seul exemple du genre à atteindre un public mondial véritablement sismique. .

 

Rammstein-concert-rammstein-live-photos-

Rammstein live -Crédit photo Eric CANTO

La tournée

La tournée européenne 2013 a commencé à Barcelone, en Espagne. La première partie est assurée par le DJ Joe Letz.

14/04/2013 – Espagne, Barcelone, Palau Sant Jordi
16/04/2013 – Portugal, Lisbonne, Pavillon Atlantico
19/04/2013 – Espagne, Bilbao, BEC
21/04/2013 – Espagne, Madrid, Palacio Deportes
04 / 23/2013 – France, Montpellier, Park & ​​Suites Arena
24/04/2013 – France, Lyon, La Halle Tony Garnier
26/04/2013 – Italie, Bologne, Unipol Arena
28/04/2013 – Serbie, Belgrade, Kombank Arena
30/04/2013 – Slovénie, Ljubljana, Centre Stozice
05/04/2013 – Allemagne, Wolfsburg, KraftWerk
05/05/2013 – Allemagne, Wolfsburg, KraftWerk
07/07/2013 – France, Nancy, Zenith-Amphitheatre Plein Air

Rammstein live -Crédit photo Eric CANTO

Rammstein live -Crédit photo Eric CANTO

Rammstein concert : la setlist 

– Ich tu dir weh
– Wollt ihr das Bett in Flammen sehen?
– Keine Lust
– Sehnsucht
– Asche zu Asche
– Feuer frei!
-Mein Teil
– Ohne dich
– Du riechst so gut
– Wiener Blut
– Benzin
– Links 2-3-4
– Du hast
– Bück dich
– Ich will

Rappel: Mein Herz brennt (Piano Version) // Sonne // Pussy.

Sud de France Arena à Montpellier – Capacité 15.000 personnes
Première partie DJ Joe Letz – Heure du concert 20h00 – Prix des billets 61,50 €

Rammstein Discographie / Rammstein Album

  • 1995 Herzeleid – Sortie : 24 septembre 1995 – Label : Motor Music – Format : CD, K7
  • 1997 Sehnsucht – Sortie : 22 août 1997 – Label : Motor Music – Format : CD, K7
  • 2001 Mutter – Sortie : 2 avril 2001-  Label : Motor Music – Format : CD, K7, LP
  • 2004 Reise, Reise – Sortie : 27 septembre 2004 – Label : Universal Music – Format : CD
  • 2005 Rosenrot – Sortie : 28 octobre 2005 – Label : Universal Music – Format : CD
  • 2009 Liebe ist für alle da – Sortie : 16 octobre 2009 –  Label : Universal Music – Format : CD
  • 2019 Rammstein – Sortie : 17 mai 2019  –  Label : Universal Music – Format : CD

 

Rammstein Site officiel  : https://www.rammstein.de/en/

Rammstein Tickets : https://www.rammstein.de/en/tickets/

 

Rammstein Site officiel - Rammstein Tickets

Rammstein live -Crédit photo Eric CANTO

 

 


 

Eric CANTO Photographe : Photos de concert , portraits, pochettes d’album.

 

Visitez mon portfolio Visitez le blog Visitez le shop Contactez moi

 

Bonus : Critique de Melodie Maker pour la sortie du live PARIS

 
Paris est un chef-d’œuvre moderne du cinéma musical: un concert live filmé avec tout le flair et l’élégance d’un clip. Tourné par le célèbre réalisateur et ancien membre du groupe suédois de black metal Bathory Jonas Akerlund, le film utilise des coupes rapides, des gros plans, des colorations dramatiques et des effets CGI pour créer une expérience plus vibrante que la réalité.

À l’aide de 25 caméras et tourné en deux nuits au Palais Omnisports de Paris-Bercy, Akerlund explique son concept pour Paris comme “tourner un spectacle en direct (tout en) essayant de traduire l’énergie que vous obtenez dans la salle pour filmer”.

Il explique: “J’essaie avec chaque astuce du livre pour faire autant d’impressions que possible sur le public.”

Regarder Paris est certainement une expérience viscérale et déroutante, comme si un spectacle avec des pénis géants jaillissait, suffisamment de pyro pour détruire un petit pays et le claviériste Christian “ Flake ‘Lorenz cuisiné dans un pot de feu n’était pas assez stimulant visuellement.

Les antécédents d’ Akerlund dans les vidéoclips contribuent sans aucun doute à l’esthétique saisissante qui a déjà travaillé avec le groupe sur leurs promotions vidéo pour «Ich Tu Dir Weh», « Mein Land» et la parodie porno controversée «Pussy».

«C’était principalement la vision et les idées visuelles de Jonas», explique le batteur de Rammstein, Christoph Schneider. «Nous lui avons confié un contrôle créatif et lui avons dit: ‘C’est votre film, vous êtes un grand cinéaste et monteur, alors vous le faites comme vous le voyez.’

«Avoir cette coupe rapide et ce montage lourd semblait trop sur toute la durée d’un spectacle, alors nous nous sommes un peu impliqués et avons changé les choses ici et là, mais nous ne l’avons pas vraiment changé vraiment.»

 

«Il a un bon sens du détail et se concentre sur les choses que vous ne voyez pas lorsque vous êtes dans le public. Jonas a donc commencé à couper les choses très rapidement et à les rendre très énervées; lorsque nous l’avons vu pour la première fois, nous avons été très choqués par la rapidité de la coupe et la difficulté de la suivre et de la digérer.

Malgré quelques réserves concernant le montage final, Rammstein n’a que du respect pour Akerlund et sa vision de leur spectacle en direct. Le guitariste Paul Landers fait l’éloge de sa fluidité visuelle et met la patience exigée pour un projet de cette ampleur à la compétence technique des Suédois.

Bien que cela puisse sembler une procédure tout à fait normale pour la plupart des groupes, les fans fidèles de Rammstein savent qu’ils abandonnent rarement beaucoup de contrôle créatif. Les six membres du groupe ont le sentiment que toutes les choses marquées de la bannière Rammstein cadrent avec la vision et les mythes qu’ils ont créés.

Permettre à Akerlund de se répandre avec sa vision créative a conduit à la représentation visuelle la plus saisissante de Rammstein à ce jour – un exploit, étant donné qu’il existe déjà 4 DVD contenant des images en direct disponibles dans le commerce. Alors pourquoi ont-ils ressenti le besoin d’en faire un autre?

«Vous les créez pour l’histoire», explique Schneider. “Si quelqu’un dans 20 ans dans le futur veut savoir à quoi ressemblait Rammstein, voici un document visuel à regarder.”

Rammstein est actuellement en train d’écrire son septième album studio encore sans titre. On sait peu de choses sur l’album en dehors du cercle restreint de Rammstein, mais compte tenu de l’écart de huit ans depuis leur dernier album, l’anticipation est à un niveau record pour la nouvelle musique du groupe.

Ce que nous savons: 28 idées de chansons ont été esquissées pour l’enregistrement, dont 24 ont déjà des paroles. Landers les décrit comme «pas prêts à enregistrer, mais en direct!» Certains d’entre eux sont des morceaux nus de chansons, certains sont pratiquement terminés.

Mais ne vous attendez pas à un effort tentaculaire et épique sur un double album; si un thème général revient au premier plan au cours de ces premières étapes de la création du disque, il réduit la graisse et affine les choses à l’essentiel.

Schneider souligne: «C’est une sorte de secret de la musique de Rammstein pour être clair et se débarrasser du ballast et se concentrer sur ce qui est là, ce qui le rend plus difficile et a plus d’impact. Cette fois, c’est plus facile, car nous nous entendons très bien ces dernières années.

«Peut-être que cela revient à l’âge; vous essayez de ne plus changer vos amis ou collègues, alors vous les acceptez davantage tels qu’ils sont et leur donnez l’espace dont ils ont besoin. »

“Pour le moment, c’est presque une harmonie insupportable dans ce groupe”, lance Länder avec un sourire malicieux.

Un sens de l’euphonie a été établi en partie grâce à la mission d’un producteur de superviser non pas l’enregistrement, mais les sessions d’écriture. Olsen Involtini a déjà travaillé avec le groupe pour arranger des cordes pour Mutter et Reise, Reise, créer des remixes et concevoir leur son live; son histoire de travail avec le groupe fait d’Involtini un parfait médiateur pour lancer des idées créatives entre les deux.

«C’est un bon ami à nous», explique Schneider. «Il produit du hip-hop et de la musique pop en Allemagne et il joue également de la guitare. Il a beaucoup de bonnes qualités alors nous l’avons amené pour diriger la répétition et travailler avec nous sur les chansons.

«Si deux d’entre nous ne sont pas d’accord, nous prenons la direction qu’il aime. Souvent, nous nous perdions dans la fabrication de quelque chose; il y aurait 20 versions différentes d’une chanson et il nous aiderait à nous concentrer sur ce qui fonctionnait et ce qui ne fonctionnait pas. »

Landers ajoute rapidement: «L’écriture dans Rammstein est toujours démocratique… pas facile, mais démocratique. Nous sommes comme des chiens avides. Mais avec Olsen qui dirige la répétition, nous n’avons pas à nous battre autant – nous suivons simplement son exemple. Il nous aide à nous concentrer et à éviter les combats inutiles. »

Cette dernière partie en particulier est probablement une partie cruciale du rôle d’Involtini; les tensions dans le studio lors de la création du Liebe ist für alle de 2009 semblent avoir été le principal moteur de la longue pause de Rammstein. (Landers décrit l’écriture de l’album comme faire un collage à côté d’une fenêtre ouverte; le vent continue de disperser les morceaux, ce qui rend difficile leur assemblage.)

Des rumeurs ont commencé à émerger vers 2014-2015 selon lesquelles le groupe se séparait – sans aucun doute alimenté par des membres sélectionnés du groupe travaillant sur divers projets musicaux en dehors de Rammstein.

«Nous avons également entendu cette rumeur», explique Landers, «mais cela n’a jamais vraiment été le cas. Mais cette rumeur a continué parce que nous n’avons pas sorti de disque, mais Till (Lindemann, chanteur) et Richard (Kruspe, guitariste) l’ont fait et cela a encore plus alimenté le feu.

«Mais nous ne risquions pas vraiment de rompre; nous avons juste eu quelques années de congé. Pour moi, l’avenir de Rammstein n’a jamais été remis en question, pas même un petit peu. »

Alors, quel a été le catalyseur pour réunir les six membres de Rammstein pour commencer à travailler sur leur septième album?

“La façon dont j’ai tendance à le dire”, explique Landers, “est que nous quatre qui n’avions pas enregistré de record à cette époque avaient faim. Till et Richard ne voulaient pas aller au restaurant parce qu’ils avaient déjà mangé, mais nous avons tous les quatre dit: «Nous avons faim! Alors ils ont accepté de venir. Nous avons fait un compromis et avons dit: “Commençons par trois ou quatre chansons et voyons ce que ça fait sans pression.” Et ça faisait du bien, et maintenant nous avons 28 idées de chansons. »

“Le groupe avait des souvenirs particulièrement mauvais sur la dernière production”, ajoute Schneider, se référant à Liebe ist für alle . «Cela a pris beaucoup de temps et il y a eu beaucoup de discussions. Nous perdrions la trace des choses très facilement et personne ne voulait sauter directement dans cette situation. Tout le monde avait peur que si nous nous mettions à écrire un autre album, nous recommencions tous ces petits combats. Mais cela a changé maintenant, et avec la contribution d’Olsen, nous ne nous battons plus si fort – personne ne s’entre-tue pour prendre sa part sur les autres. “

Alors que la majorité des chansons du groupe sont écrites dans leur langue maternelle, leur musique transcende toute barrière linguistique; Rammstein fait partie d’une petite poignée de groupes capables de vendre des arènes à travers le monde sans l’aide de chansons écrites en anglais.

Leur popularité internationale écrasante dépasse de loin les attentes de la plupart des groupes en dehors de l’Anglosphere, et est la preuve (le cas échéant) du pouvoir de la musique à communiquer sur un terrain de jeu universel.

Landers résume succinctement le large attrait du groupe lorsqu’il décrit son approche de l’écriture des riffs délicieusement simples, mais exécutés avec goût de Rammstein: «Une chose à laquelle j’essaie de penser lorsque nous écrivons des chansons, c’est ce que ça fera de jouer en live. Si vous vous tenez à la maison et que vous jouez un accord fort qui sonne, ça fait du bien, vous vous sentez puissant! Mais si vous êtes assis et que vous cueillez doucement, cela ne vous fait pas du bien.

«Nous essayons d’avoir plus de moments dans la musique Rammstein qui vous font vous sentir bien; si ça a l’air bien, ça sonne aussi bien. »

Cette formule relativement simple, à côté d’un spectacle conquérant dont beaucoup attesteront est l’un des meilleurs spectacles du monde de la musique live, fait en sorte que Rammstein continuera de battre toutes les chances et restera l’une des propositions les plus célèbres et uniques en métal .

Souvent, le spectacle est si (littéralement) explosif, il éclipse apparemment la qualité et l’audace pure de l’écriture de chansons du sextuor allemand. Mais c’est pour sous-estimer l’esprit acerbe de «Mein Teil», l’audace orchestrale de «Mein Herz brennt», la beauté délicate de «Ohne Dich» ou le coup de poing pur et dur de «Sonne», une chanson de 16 ans qui sonne aussi dynamique et puissant qu’en 2001.

Est-il irritant que l’écriture de chansons complexe du groupe soit éclipsée par la simple domination de leur show fougueux? «Nous mettons autant d’efforts dans la musique que dans le spectacle», explique Schneider. «Tout comme nous mettons autant d’efforts dans les photos, les lumières, les vidéos parce que nous savons qu’ils vont tous ensemble. Chaque élément a son rôle à jouer et se soutient mutuellement. »

“Vous ne pouvez pas forcer les gens à réagir d’une certaine manière à ce que vous mettez devant eux”, ajoute Landers. «Nous vivons dans un monde libre et les gens ont le droit de ne pas écouter. Nous savons que parfois le spectacle éclipse la musique, et nous essayons de ne pas laisser cela se produire. Mais la musique est très bonne à mes yeux, et nous essayons d’avoir un équilibre entre les deux.

«Si vous rencontrez une belle femme aux cheveux blonds et aux gros seins, vous pourriez commencer à lui parler à cause de son apparence, mais vous découvrirez ensuite qu’elle est intelligente, drôle, et de bon cœur. Nous essayons à Rammstein d’être la blonde avec un cerveau. »

Paris est désormais disponible sur DVD et Blu-Ray via Spinefarm Records .

error: