Untold Stories, a remarkable book

Peter Lindbergh has assembled an original collection that sheds an unexpected light on his colossal work in this new book: untold stories. This book is the official catalog of a remarkable exhibition. It offers a first-rate and very detailed overview and this very personal collection.

This XXL book contains over 150 photographs, many of which were never published during the photographer's lifetime. They were usually commissioned by fashion magazines such as Vogue or Harper's Bazaar, Interview or The Wall Street Journal.

A long conversation between Peter Lindbergh and Kunstpalast director Felix Krämer as well as a tribute to his close friend Wim Wenders. The result is the deep commitment of Peter Lindbergh in his job.

 

About photographer Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh, whose real name is Peter Brodbeck, was born on November 23, 1944 in Lissa, Poland (from 1939 to 1945 in the Reichsgau Wartheland, today Leszno). Her father is a candy seller. He spent his childhood in Duisburg, "a simple childhood without superfluous things, because there was nothing in Duisburg," he says.

As a teenager, he worked as a window decorator for the Karstadt and Horten department stores in Duisburg. In addition, as he comes from an area close to the Dutch border in North Rhine-Westphalia, he spends the summer holidays with his family on the Dutch coast near Noordwijk. The wide Dutch beaches and industrial areas of Duisburg, where Peter Brodbeck grew up, will therefore have a decisive influence on his work over the years.

 

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

His journey

In the early 1960s, Peter Lindberghl moved to Lucerne and a few months later to Berlin, where he enrolled at the Berlin Academy of the Arts. In the footsteps of his idol In the footsteps of his idol Vincent van Gogh, he hitchhikes in Arles. He remembers those years: “I preferred to take inspiration from Van Gogh, my model, rather than painting the portraits and landscapes imposed in art schools. After a few months in Arles, he continued his two-year trip to Spain and Morocco.

Back in Germany, Peter Lindbergh studied abstract art at the'art school from Krefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia. He discovers Joseph Kosuth and the conceptual art that will shape him. Before graduating, he was invited to present his work in the famous avant-garde Denise René-Hans Mayer gallery. After moving to Düsseldorf, he turned to photography and worked for two years as an assistant to German photographer Hans Lux. "He was an unambiguous advertising photographer, but very human."

He showed me everything […] Working with him was very important to me, ”he comments. Then in 1973, he opened his own studio. He quickly became the "comet of German advertising". His reputation grew in Germany and he joined the team at Stern magazine, where he partnered with legendary photographers Helmut Newton, Guy Bourdin and Hans Feurer. A few years later, he moved to Paris.

About the co-authors

Felix Krämera has curated numerous notable exhibitions since 2003 and author and editor of numerous publications on modern art. In 2013, he was named Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres. After working at the Hamburger Kunsthalle and the Städel Museum in Frankfurt am Main, Krämer has been Managing Director of the Kunstpalast Düsseldorf since October 2017.

Director, author and photographer Wim Wenders is one of Germany's most famous filmmakers today. He became known for Paris (Texas) (1984), The Wings of Desire (1987), Pina (2011) and The Salt of the Earth (2014), a documentary on Sebastião Salgado, which he excited. Many artists have been influenced by his works, including his close friend, the late Peter Lindbergh.

Peter Lindbergh. Untold Stories Hardcover, 27 x 36 cm, 320 pages

ISBN 978-3-8365-7991-9
Multilingual edition: German, English, French

Find out more: https://www.taschen.com/

Official site : Peter Linderbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

peter lindbergh untold stories

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh Untold Stories 1 Copy

Peter Lindbergh Untold Stories 2 Copy 1


 

Eric CANTO Photographer: Concert photos, portraits, album covers.

 

Visit my portfolio Visit the blog Visit the shop contact me

 

Other articles that may interest you:
Jean-Marie Perier : Itinéraire d’un photographe gâté
Jean Marie Perier 20

Jean-Marie Perier, son histoire en quelques mots... Jean-Marie Perier est né à Neuilly en 1940. Il débute sa carrière comme Read more

VIVIAN MAIER: Une photographe d’exception
Vivian Maier

Percer le mystére de la vie de Vivian Maier peut facilement évoquer la célèbre citation de Churchill sur le vaste Read more

Pierre et Gilles: 30 years of Photos
Pierre et Gilles 30 years of Photos, exhibitions and publications.

[et_pb_text admin_label="Text" _builder_version="3.27.4" background_size="initial" background_position="top_left" Read more
Annie Leibovitz Photographer
annie leibovitz photography

Presentation of the photographer Annie Leibovitz The photos of Annie Leibovitz tell the story of public life for the past 40 years Read more

en_USEnglish
Visit the shop

Untold Stories, un livre remarquable

Peter Lindbergh a constitué une collection originale qui jette une lumière inattendue sur son œuvre colossale dans ce nouveau livre : untold stories. Ce livre est le catalogue officiel d’une remarquable exposition. Il offre un aperçu de premier ordre et trés détaillé et  de cette collection très personnelle.

Ce livre XXL contient plus de 150 photographies, dont beaucoup n’ont jamais été publiées du vivant du photographe . Ils étaient généralement commandés par des magazines de mode tels que Vogue ou Harper’s Bazaar, Interview ou The Wall Street Journal.

Une longue conversation entre Peter Lindbergh et le directeur du Kunstpalast Felix Krämer ainsi qu’un hommage à son ami intime Wim Wenders . Le résultat est l’engagement profond de Peter Lindbergh dans son travail.

 

À propos du photographe Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh, de son vrai nom Peter Brodbeck, est né le 23 novembre 1944 à Lissa, en Pologne (de 1939 à 1945 dans le Reichsgau Wartheland, aujourd’hui Leszno). Son père est marchand de bonbons. Il a passé son enfance à Duisburg, “une enfance simple sans choses superflues, car il n’y avait rien à Duisburg”, dit-il.

Adolescent, il travaille comme décorateur de fenêtres pour les grands magasins Karstadt et Horten à Duisburg. De plus, comme il vient d’une région proche de la frontière néerlandaise en Rhénanie du Nord-Westphalie, il passe les vacances d’été en famille sur la côte néerlandaise près de Noordwijk. Les larges plages hollandaises et les zones industrielles de Duisburg, où Peter Brodbeck a grandi, auront donc une influence décisive sur son travail au fil des ans.

 

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Son parcours

Au début des années 1960, Peter Lindberghl s’installe à Lucerne et quelques mois plus tard à Berlin, où il s’inscrit à l’Académie des Arts de Berlin. Sur les traces de son idole Sur les traces de son idole Vincent van Gogh, il fait de l’auto-stop à Arles . Il se souvient de ces années: “J’ai préféré m’inspirer de Van Gogh, mon modèle, plutôt que de peindre les portraits et les paysages imposés dans les écoles d’art.” Après quelques mois à Arles, il poursuit son voyage de deux ans en Espagne et au Maroc.

De retour en Allemagne, Peter Lindbergh a étudié l’art abstrait à l‘école d’art de Krefeld, en Rhénanie du Nord-Westphalie. Il découvre Joseph Kosuth et l’art conceptuel qui le façonneront. Avant d’obtenir son diplôme, il a été invité à présenter son travail dans la célèbre galerie d’avant-garde Denise René-Hans Mayer. Après s’être installé à Düsseldorf, il s’est tourné vers la photographie et a travaillé pendant deux ans comme assistant du photographe allemand Hans Lux. “C’était un photographe publicitaire sans ambitions, mais très humain”.

Il m’a tout montré […] Travailler avec lui était très important pour moi », commente-t-il. Puis en 1973, il ouvre son propre studio. Il est rapidement devenu la “comète de la publicité allemande”. Sa réputation a grandi en Allemagne et il a rejoint l’équipe du magazine Stern, où il s’est associé aux photographes légendaires Helmut Newton , Guy Bourdin et Hans Feurer. Quelques années plus tard, il s’installe à Paris.

À propos des co-auteurs

Felix Krämera a été commissaire de nombreuses expositions remarquables depuis 2003 et auteur et éditeur de nombreuses publications sur l’art moderne. En 2013, il a été nommé Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres. Après avoir travaillé à la Hamburger Kunsthalle et au Städel Museum de Francfort-sur-le-Main, Krämer est directeur général du Kunstpalast de Düsseldorf depuis octobre 2017.

Le réalisateur, auteur et photographe Wim Wenders est aujourd’hui l’un des cinéastes allemands les plus célèbres. Il s’est fait connaître pour Paris (Texas) (1984), The Wings of Desire (1987), Pina (2011) et The Salt of the Earth (2014), un documentaire sur Sebastião Salgado, qu’il a excité. De nombreux artistes ont été influencés par ses œuvres, y compris son ami proche, feu Peter Lindbergh.

Peter Lindbergh. Untold Stories  Relié, 27 x 36 cm, 320 pages

ISBN 978-3-8365-7991-9
Édition multilingue: Allemand, Anglais, Français

En savoir plus : https://www.taschen.com/

Site officiel : Peter Linderbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

peter lindbergh untold stories

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh: Untold Stories 1

Peter Lindbergh: Untold Stories 2


 

Eric CANTO Photographe : Photos de concert, portraits, pochettes d’album.

 

Visitez mon portfolio Visitez le blog Visitez le shop Contactez moi

 

error: