In the series of photographers that inspire, Jill greenberg is a perfect example.

Photographer Jill Greenberg

Jill greenberg was born in Montreal, Canada and raised in a suburb of Detroit. She graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design with a BFA in Photography in 1989, then moved to New York City to pursue a career as photographer.

In 2000, she moved to Los Angeles, where she met her husband Robert. In its large color photographs animals and people, Jill greenberg highlights the astonishing physical beauty of all its designs and, with its expressive faces and bodies, questions the separation of humans and animals and explores the dark side of humans.

His photographs and portraits are characterized by their deeply rooted feminism and their pronounced sensitivity to their motives.

Jill Greenberg's work

Jill greenberg works for companies like Philip Morris, Microsoft, Compaq, Polaroid, Dreamworks, Sony Pictures, Paramount Pictures, MGM, Disney, Fox, Coca Cola, Pepsi, Smirnoff, MTV, Warner Bros, Sony Music and Atlantic Records. His photos have appeared on the covers of Time Magazine, TV Guide, Newsweek, US News and World Report, Wired, Entertainment Weekly, and many other publications.

"I always loved create images. I love colors and shapes as well as emotions and ideas. I love the chance to make a living from what I love. I look at everything, the light reflects on the faces of my children, a painting in a magazine or online. I like to read non-fiction and learn new things all the time.

I'm a bit of an introvert and workaholic and sometimes it can be misunderstood: I'm shy every project is important I never call I always bring my enthusiasm, passion and ideas to every project.

I work around the clock for myself to make sure the job is done right.It's important for me to treat everyone - the whole team - with respect - although I'm terrible when it comes to names. I am very good at faces.

I like faces, photographing faces, painting faces. I live for my job ”

The work of Jill greenberg work has been published in Harpers, The New Yorker, The New Republic and several other publications. His series of monkeys have been purchased by art collectors around the world. He has been exhibited at ClampArt in New York and Fahey / Klein in Los Angeles and his work has been exhibited in Adelaide, Australia, as well as San Francisco, Chicago and various other cities.

Official site : Jill greenberg

Jill Greenberg photographer

Jill Greenberg photographer

Jill Greenberg photographer

jill greenberg artist

Jill Greenberg photographer

jill greenberg photography

jill greenberg portrait

 

Interview of Jill Greenbers by Pixel.com

Ken Weingart: How did you get started with photography?

Jill Greenberg: I have been drawing, painting and taking pictures since I was eight or nine years old. I went to Cranbrook for elementary school, so I learned how to print in the darkroom in grade 5. My parents were photo enthusiasts and they let me use their cameras.

I used to set up still lifes of my model horses, and later I staged portraits of my Westie named Plato. I used to draw him and his horses obsessively when I was little.

In high school I wanted to be a fashion illustrator or fashion photographer, and I went to RISD for a pre-college illustration program, but ended up being a photo major at RISD after spending a summer on a scholarship. at Parsons in Paris to study photography.

This thesis was a feminist screed on the internalized patriarchal gaze discussed in relation to the panopticon. It was a ten minute slide show with a soundtrack by Chris & Cosey - Throbbing Gristle, I was doing the voice over a stream of modified music: space….

So I almost walked into the Whitney, but the week before I got a call to shoot for Sassy Magazine. I decided that I should establish myself as a pro and earn some money because I needed to support myself.

I did digital art in the 90s, but my main focus was on research and of course these are two totally different worlds. I have a lot of friends at RISD who are all about fine art, but I just didn't want to be a starving artist.

 

How productive have you been at Rhode Island School of Design? What have you learned and what knowledge has remained with you?

Jill Greenberg: RISD was not so much a technical base, but rather a place to learn critical thinking, how to deconstruct and construct images.

I also took a great semiotics class with Mary Anne Doane at Brown, and since postmodernism was all the rage at the time - it fed my work. This has been invaluable as an image maker, as images have become our universal language.

I'm pretty good at creative direction and telling a story with a picture. This sometimes makes it difficult to perform a dissertation that seems to have no visual meaning. I am always happy to creatively participate in my unlimited ideas.

 

How did you get into magazines? How often did you put down your book and set up meetings? Are there still magazines you would like to work with?

Jill Greenberg: I would still like to shoot for Vogue. I'm still a huge fashion fan, unlike my feminist side.

I love the idea of turning tables and making men look good, and I've played around with this a lot, but it's a tough nut to crack. I actually made a calendar in 1988 called handsome men with C prints. I still have it.

How did you develop your multi-key / multi-signature lighting technique? What equipment do you use for lighting, to what extent and what has been the critical factor in your success?

Jill Greenberg: I have to challenge the term signature. It is such a double edged sword. Yesterday I was in a meeting and jokingly didn't let the client refer to it as such. I have made so many approaches to making images in my life.

It's actually a huge pain in that the look I'm referring to, my lighting monkey for example, has become so identified with my name… I have worked hard so that this does not happen, but the controversy over the poorly understood process behind the series End Times has some made a worldwide phenomenon.

To my dismay, I have suffered horribly from internet bullying, insults… .. people still believe lies - it still hurts my business. Of course, I haven't personally done anything except asking parents to gently try to make their little ones cry.

In some cases, it was simply because the moms had taken off the child's shirt. Honestly, it's horrible that people think the worst. But I have little control over the crazy people who roam the Internet. There's even a conspiracy theorist who thinks my portraits are sort of proof that Sandy Hook was rigged.

It is beyond madness. Anyway, from a technical point of view - in the 80s I was projecting on people and painting on my impressions. In 1990, I took a course at SVA and learned Photoshop 1.0. I was scanning pictures and scanning body parts on my flatbed scanner.

I was known to photograph mirrored reflections, with colored gels, and I did "forced perspective" that required me to lie on the ground or stand on a ladder. Around 1998, I reinvented my look with a Broncolor satellite dish and rim lights.

At the same time, I was still photographing printed portraits of Poppy C. I was scanning the prints back then, but I started scanning the negatives - around 1999. I moved my studio from New York to Los Angeles in 2000. .

In October 2001, I created the Monkey lighting. I was shooting an ad campaign for Target and there was a cat, a dog, and a monkey. I shot studio style film portraits of the monkey and just knew it was hilarious.

I had been in contact with Henry Horenstein, who is a professor at RISD. He was taking his class to NYC to show them my studio, and he told Paul Kopeikin about it. I asked him for an exhibition. Paul said he knew someone who would like a great monkey photo. He offered to install one at the back of the gallery and there was a very strong feedback.

I knew someone who knew a book agent and got a monkey portrait book contract… ..then I did End of time when my daughter was born, then Ursine in response to this backlash.

 

What cameras and lenses have you used throughout your career and why?

Jill Greenberg: I use what's good - usually the latest Nikon body, and I experiment a lot.

When the Nikon D800 came out I started shooting at ISO 4000, and that was a game changer. I'm not sure a few years ago I would have had the chance to climb that high with any result. I love new technologies! I already had a website in 1995.

 

Your website used to be called The Manipulator. How important was Photoshop to your work, and is it still important?

Jill Greenberg: Photoshop is a very powerful tool, but lately I mainly work in Capture.

 

Jill Greenberg photographer

Jill Greenberg photographer

Jill Greenberg photographer

Jill Greenberg photographer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Eric CANTO Photographer: Concert photos, portraits, album covers.

 

Visit my portfolio Visit the blog Visit the shop contact me

 

Other articles that may interest you:
Jean-Marie Perier : Itinéraire d’un photographe gâté
Jean Marie Perier 20

Jean-Marie Perier, son histoire en quelques mots... Jean-Marie Perier est né à Neuilly en 1940. Il débute sa carrière comme Read more

VIVIAN MAIER: Une photographe d’exception
Vivian Maier

Percer le mystére de la vie de Vivian Maier peut facilement évoquer la célèbre citation de Churchill sur le vaste Read more

Pierre et Gilles: 30 years of Photos
Pierre et Gilles 30 years of Photos, exhibitions and publications.

[et_pb_text admin_label="Text" _builder_version="4.16" Read more
Annie Leibovitz Photographer
annie leibovitz photography

Presentation of the photographer Annie Leibovitz The photos of Annie Leibovitz tell the story of public life for the past 40 years Read more

en_USEnglish
Visit the shop

Dans la série des photographes qui inspirent, Jill Greenberg en est un parfait exemple.

La photographe Jill Greenberg

Jill Greenberg est née à Montréal, Canada et a grandi dans une banlieue de Détroit. Elle est diplômée de la Rhode Island School of Design avec un BFA en photographie en 1989, puis a déménagé à New York pour poursuivre une carrière de photographe.

En 2000, elle a déménagé à Los Angeles, où elle a rencontré son mari Robert. Dans ses grandes photographies en couleur d’animaux et de personnes, Jill Greenberg souligne la beauté physique étonnante de tous ses motifs et, avec ses visages et corps expressifs, interroge la séparation des humains et des animaux et explore le côté sombre des humains.

Ses photographies et ses portraits se caractérisent par  leur féminisme profondément enraciné et leur sensibilité prononcée à leurs motifs.

Jill Greenberg photographe

Jill Greenberg photographe

Le travail de Jill Greenberg

Jill Greenberg travaille pour des sociétés comme Philip Morris, Microsoft, Compaq, Polaroid, Dreamworks, Sony Pictures, Paramount Pictures, MGM, Disney, Fox, Coca Cola, Pepsi , Smirnoff, MTV, Warner Bros, Sony Music et Atlantic Records. Ses photos sont apparues sur les couvertures de Time Magazine , TV Guide, Newsweek, US News and World Report, Wired, Entertainment Weekly et de nombreuses autres publications.

«J’ai toujours aimé créer des images. J’aime les couleurs et les formes ainsi que les émotions et les idées. J’aime la chance de vivre de ce que j’aime. Je regarde tout, la lumière se reflète sur les visages de mes enfants, une peinture dans un magazine ou en ligne. J’aime lire des non-fictions et apprendre de nouvelles choses tout le temps.

Je suis un peu introverti et bourreau de travail et parfois cela peut être mal compris: je suis timide chaque projet est important je n’appelle jamais j’apporte toujours mon enthousiasme, ma passion et mes idées à tous les projets.

Je travaille 24h / 24 pour moi-même pour m’assurer le travail est bien fait Il est important pour moi de traiter tout le monde – que toute l’équipe – avec respect – bien que je sois terrible en matière de noms. Je suis très bon pour les visages.

J’aime les visages, photographier les visages, peindre les visages. Je vis pour mon travail”

Le travail de Jill Greenberg travail a été publié dans Harpers, The New Yorker, The New Republic et plusieurs autres publications. Sa série de singes a été achetée par des collectionneurs d’art du monde entier. Il a été exposé au ClampArt à New York et à Fahey / Klein à Los Angeles et son travail a été exposé à Adélaïde, en Australie, ainsi qu’à San Francisco, Chicago et diverses autres villes.

Site officiel : Jill Greenberg

Jill Greenberg photographe

Jill Greenberg photographe

Jill Greenberg photographe

jill greenberg artiste

Jill Greenberg photographe

jill greenberg photographie

jill greenberg portrait

 

Interview de Jill Greenbers par Pixel.com

Ken Weingart: Comment avez-vous commencé la photographie?

Jill Greenberg: je dessine, peins et prends des photos depuis l’âge de huit ou neuf ans. Je suis allé à Cranbrook pour l’école primaire, j’ai donc appris à imprimer dans la chambre noire en 5e année. Mes parents étaient des amateurs de photo et ils m’ont laissé utiliser leurs appareils photo.

J’avais l’habitude de mettre en place des natures mortes de mes chevaux modèles, et plus tard j’ai mis en scène des portraits de mon Westie nommé Platon. J’avais l’habitude de le dessiner lui et ses chevaux de manière obsessionnelle quand j’étais petite.

Au lycée, je voulais être illustratrice de mode ou photographe de mode, et je suis allé à RISD pour un programme d’illustration préuniversitaire, mais j’ai fini par être major photo au RISD après avoir passé un été sur une bourse d’études à Parsons à Paris pour étudier la photographie.

Cette thèse était une chape féministe sur le regard patriarcal intériorisé discuté en relation avec le panoptique. C’était un diaporama de dix minutes avec une bande-son de Chris & Cosey – de Throbbing Gristle , je faisais la voix sur un flot de musique modifié: space….

J’ai donc failli entrer au Whitney, mais la semaine avant, j’ai reçu un appel pour shooter pour Sassy Magazine. J’ai décidé que je devrais m’établir en tant que pro et gagner de l’argent car j’avais besoin de subvenir à mes besoins.

J’ai fait de l’art numérique dans les années 90, mais je me concentrais principalement sur la recherche et, bien sûr, ce sont deux mondes totalement différents. J’ai beaucoup d’amis de RISD qui se sont entièrement consacrés aux beaux-arts, mais je ne voulais tout simplement pas être un artiste affamé.

 

Quelle a été votre productivité à la Rhode Island School of Design? Qu’avez-vous appris et quelles connaissances vous sont restées?

Jill Greenberg: RISD n’était pas tant une base technique, mais plutôt un lieu pour apprendre la pensée critique, comment déconstruire et construire des images.

J’ai également pris un excellent cours de sémiotique avec Mary Anne Doane à Brown, et puisque le post-modernisme était à la mode à l’époque – cela a nourri mon travail. Cela a été inestimable en tant que créateur d’images, car les images sont devenues notre langage universel.

Je suis assez bon en direction créative et en racontant une histoire avec une image. Cela rend parfois difficile l’exécution d’un mémoire qui semble ne pas avoir de sens visuel. Je suis toujours heureux de participer de manière créative à mes idées illimitées.

 

Comment êtes-vous entré dans les magazines? Avez-vous souvent déposé votre livre et organisé des réunions? Y a-t-il encore des magazines avec lesquels vous aimeriez travailler  ?

Jill Greenberg: J’aimerais toujours shooter pour Vogue. Je suis toujours une grande fan de mode, contrairement à mon côté féministe.

J’aime l’idée de tourner les tables et de faire la beauté des hommes, et j’ai souvent joué avec ce sujet, mais c’est un écrou difficile à casser. En fait, j’ai fait un calendrier en 1988 appelé beaux hommes avec des imprimés C. Je l’ai encore.

Comment avez-vous développé votre technique d’éclairage à touches multiples / multisignature? Quel équipement utilisez-vous pour l’éclairage, dans quelle mesure et quel a été le facteur critique de votre succès?

Jill Greenberg: Je dois contester le terme signature. C’est une telle épée à double tranchant. Hier, j’étais en réunion et, en plaisantant, je n’ai pas laissé le client s’y référer comme tel. J’ai fait tellement d’approches pour faire des images dans ma vie.

C’est en fait une énorme douleur dans la mesure où le look auquel je fais allusion, mon éclairage Monkey par exemple, est devenu tellement identifié à mon nom… J’ai travaillé dur pour que cela ne se produise pas, mais la controverse sur le processus mal compris derrière la série End Times en a fait un phénomène mondial.

À ma grande consternation, j’ai horriblement souffert d’intimidation sur internet, d’insultes….. les gens croient encore aux mensonges – cela nuit encore à mon entreprise. Bien sûr, je n’ai rien fait personnellement, sauf demander aux parents d’essayer doucement de faire pleurer leurs tout-petits.

Dans certains cas, c’était simplement parce que les mamans avaient enlevé la chemise de l’enfant. Honnêtement, c’est horrible que les gens pensent au pire. Mais j’ai peu de contrôle sur les fous qui se balades sur Internet.  Il y a même un théoricien du complot qui pense que mes portraits sont en quelque sorte la preuve que Sandy Hook a été truqué.

C’est au-delà de la folie. Quoi qu’il en soit, du point de vue technique – dans les années 80, je faisais des projections sur des personnes et je peignais sur mes impressions. En 1990, j’ai suivi un cours à SVA et appris Photoshop 1.0. Je numérisais des images et numérisais des parties du corps sur mon scanner à plat.

J’étais connu pour photographier des reflets en miroir, avec des gels colorés, et je faisais de la «perspective forcée» qui m’obligeait à m’allonger sur le sol ou à me tenir sur une échelle. Vers 1998, j’ai réinventé mon look avec une antenne parabolique Broncolor et des feux de jante.

En même temps, je photographiais toujours des portraits imprimés de pavot C. Je numérisais les tirages  à l’époque, mais j’ai commencé à numériser les négatifs – vers 1999. J’ai déménagé mon studio de New York à Los Angeles en 2000.

En octobre 2001, j’ai créé l’éclairage Monkey. Je tournais une campagne publicitaire pour Target et il y avait un chat, un chien et un singe. J’ai tourné des portraits de film de style studio du singe et je savais juste que c’était hilarant.

J’avais été en contact avec Henry Horenstein, qui est professeur à RISD. Il amenait sa classe à NYC pour leur montrer mon studio, et il en a parlé à Paul Kopeikin. Je lui ai demandé une expo. Paul a dit qu’il connaissait quelqu’un qui voudrait une grande photo de singe. Il a proposé d’en installer une à l’arrière de la galerie et il y a eu un très fort retour.

Je connaissais quelqu’un qui connaissait un agent de livres et j’ai obtenu un contrat de livre de portraits de singes… ..puis j’ai fait Fin des temps quand ma fille est née, puis Ursine en réponse à ce contrecoup.

 

Quels appareils photo et objectifs avez-vous utilisés tout au long de votre carrière et pourquoi?

Jill Greenberg: J’utilise ce qui est bon – généralement le dernier boîtier Nikon, et  j’expérimente beaucoup.

Lorsque le Nikon D800 est sorti, j’ai commencé à tourner à 4000 ISO, et cela a changé la donne. Je ne suis pas sûr que quelques années auparavant, j”‘aurais eu la possibilité monter aussi haut avec un te résultat. J’adore les nouvelles technologies! J’avais déjà un site Web en 1995.

 

Votre site Web s’appelait autrefois The Manipulator. Quelle était l’importance de Photoshop pour votre travail, et est-ce toujours important?

Jill Greenberg:  Photoshop est un outil très puissant, mais ces derniers temps, je travaille principalement dans Capture.

 

Jill Greenberg photographe

Jill Greenberg photographe

Jill Greenberg photographe

Jill Greenberg photographe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Eric CANTO Photographe : Photos de concert, portraits, pochettes d’album.

 

Visitez mon portfolio Visitez le blog Visitez le shop Contactez moi

 

Articles similaires
maison_européenne_de-_-la-photographie---(1)

La Maison européenne de la photographie (MEP) est un centre d'exposition de photos qui a ouvert ses portes en février Read more

DON MC CULLIN : Reporter 3

Je n'avais pas encore visionné le film sur Don McCullin photographe. C'est maintenant chose faite. Un magnifique documentaire, sur un Read more

david lachapelle exposition

Qui est David LaChapelle ? David LaChapelle est internationalement connu pour son talent exceptionnel de photographe, qui combine une esthétique Read more

Steven Meisel photographe

Steven Meisel est considéré à juste titre comme l’un des photographes les plus talentueux de sa génération. Né le 5 Read more

error: