bring me The Horizon is a group of deathcore / metalcore originally from the English town of Shefflied. This group is relatively disparaged by some metal fans, but I must admit that I am a particular fan of the group. I had the chance to tour some concerts and festivals with them a few years ago.

I am always impressed by the ability of Oliver and his band to reinvent themselves with each album. For a concert photographer, the group is pretty fantastic to shoot. This group is very young, yet it already has several lives. Rich, always interesting, even fascinating albums.

Bring me the Horizon (BMTH) seek, seek and venture where few "extreme" groups do. Ok, I'm not very objective… so if you don't know this band, here's a little overview.

 

Bring Me The Horizon - photo credit Eric CANTO BMTH concert photographer

Bring Me The Horizon - Oliver Sykes - photo credit Eric CANTO

Bring Me The Horizon: The Band

The group was formed in 2004. It was in 2005 that bring me The Horizon released his first Ep. It is called "This Is What the Edge of Your Seat Was Made For". The first album "Count Your Blessing" was released in 2006, it allows the group to forge a reputation and open for Johnny Truant or Shaped By Fate.

The album is a success, and the band wins the Kerrang in the category "Best English Hope of 2006". It was at the beginning of 2008 that Bring Me The Horizon prepared its second album, Suicide Season. This album was released in September, the group then went on tour with Cancer Bats in the USA.

 

sonisphere - Bring Me The Horizon - Oliver Sykes - photo credit Eric CANTO

 

In November 2009, the band released a Cup up! which is an album composed of remix of the album "Suicide season". Remixes composed in particular by the members of The Dillinger Escape Plan and of Slipknot (among others)

Curtis Ward (Guitar) left the group in March 2009. He is replaced by Jona Weinhofen (ex-I Killed The Prom Queen, Bleeding Through), but this change does not affect the process of creating their 3rd album »There Is a Hell, Believe Me I 've Seen It. There Is a Heaven, Let's Keep It a Secret ”is out October 5th.

The group is gradually launching extracts on their site like It Never Ends, Fuck,… until the official release of the album.

After a world tour, the group enters the studio to work on the next album. It will be called Sempiternal and it will be released in 2013 by RCA, with which the group has just signed. In April 2013, the record was released, guitarist Jona Weinhofen left bring me The Horizon and Jordan Fish is coming to keyboards.

 

Bring Me The Horizon - photo credit Eric CANTO BMTH

Bring Me The Horizon - Oliver Sykes - photo credit Eric CANTO

THE ALBUMS OF Bring me the Horizon

Bring me the Horizon - amo (2018)

On August 21, 2018, the group released a new single called Mantra, which aired exclusively on UK radio station BBC Radio 1.

The next day, the release of a new album, Amo, scheduled for January 2019 is announced as well as a world tour at the end of 2018. The single Wonderful Life with Dani Filth was released in October 2018. At the beginning of January 2019, the group unveiled the Single Medicine, accompanied by a video clip.

 

 

It is followed by Mother Tongue, then Nihilist Blues with Grimes, which was released the day before the album was released. The album was released on January 24, 2019. On July 26, 2019, the British released the single Sugar Honey Ice & Tea with a music video.

On November 6, 2019, the group released the single Ludens, taken from the soundtrack of the video game Death Stranding and the first single from their upcoming album. This song is a return to Metalcore, a genre that Bring Me the Horizon has gradually neglected on its recent albums.

Definition Metalcore: Metalcore is a genre derived from heavy metal and hardcore punk that emerged in the United States in the late 1980s. There are two genres of metalcore: the original metalcore, which retains the hardcore punk riff and brutality. heavy metal, and melodic metalcore which combines the sounds and traits of melodic death metal with hardcore punk, metalcore and sometimes emo. In the broad and generalized sense, the sound is heavier, the rhythm slower, the guitar solos a little more numerous, the song less strident and much more screamed. 

Metalcore bands are emerging from the youth crew, hardcore punk culture, with many bands adhering to the straight edge (abstaining from drugs and alcohol). Several members of the metalcore band are Christians, including Zao39, The Devil Wears Prada, As I Lay Dying40, Killswitch Engage, August Burns Red, Texas in July, For Today, Oh, Sleeper, Wolves at the Gate, Underoath41,42, Norma Jean , or Silent Planet 43. The architects and Gojira (among others) are vegans and base their texts largely on the theme of ecology.

 

Bring me the Horizon - That's the Spirit (2015–2017)

In 2015, the group announced the release of a new album called That's The Spirit. Their first single titled Happy Song was uploaded on July 12, 2015. The album marks a major change in the band's style, which abandons its metalcore and hardcore sounds to approach a style that is closer to the alternative metal, bare metal, pop metal and electro rock.

In 2016, the group gave an event concert at the Royal Albert Hall in London with a symphony orchestra and was the subject of a DVD release.

 

Bring me the Horizon - Sempiternal (2012–2014)

On January 28, 2012, the group announced their return to the studio on their Facebook page. The fourth album could be based on post-rock sounds and influences. The release of the album titled Sempiternal is announced for 2013.

It will be the first to be released on Epithaph, the label with which the group has just signed. In early 2013, a first single from the album Shadow moses was released.

On January 14, 2013, the band announced the release of the album for April 29, 2013. At the same time, they announce a European tour and the departure of their guitarist Jona Weinhofen, replaced by Jordan Fish. On February 28, 2013, the group announced that their new album: Sempiternal, available for a week in streaming, will finally be released on April 1, 2013.

 

 

Bring me the Horizon - There Is a Hell… and The Chill Out Sessions (2010–2011)

On October 4, 2010, her third album was released. There is hell, believe me, I saw it. There is paradise, let's keep it a secret. The group is moving towards the Metalcore genre. The promotion of the latter led them to intensive tours in Europe and the United States. In 2011, the group participated in the Sonisphere Traveling European Festival in Switzerland on June 24, in Italy on June 25 and in France at Snowhall Parc d'Amnéville on July 8.

In November 2011, the band accompanied the Machine Head Group as a guest on their The Eighth Plague tour. Finally, the EP remix of the third album titled The Chill Out Sessions, which was scheduled for New Years 2012, is canceled due to management and label issues. It will finally be available for free download on November 22, 2012 on the Group's website.

 

Bring me the Horizon - Suicide Season (2008–2009)

The second album of Bring me The Horizon, Suicide Season, will be released on September 29, 2008. Suicide Season is recorded between April and May 2008, in Sweden, with Fredrik Nordstrom, who has worked with I Killed the Prom Queen, At the Gates, Arch Enemy and Dimmu Borgir. In May and June 2008, they returned to Australia after recording their second album and performing on I Killed the Prom Queen's last tour.

The group opens the main stage Sunday at the Reading Festival 2008, which they call their biggest concert on MySpace. They give a concert at Trabendo in Paris on October 2.

 

sonisphere - bring me the horizon

 

In October 2008, they began a European tour with The Red Shore, Deez Nuts and Ignominious Incarceration, followed by a tour of the United States with Misery Signals, The Ghost Inside and Johnny Truant. They also performed during the 2008 Warped Tour in the United States.

On March 19, 2009, the group announced on their official MySpace that Curtis Ward, their guitarist for 5 years, was leaving the group, because he could no longer bear the rhythm of the tours which took him too far away from his family.

 

Bring Me The Horizon - Oliver Sykes - photo credit Eric CANTO backstage

 

He will be temporarily replaced by Dean Rowbotham of the Mirimar Disaster, in particular at the Groezrock Festival on April 17, 2009. On July 9, 2009, a new permanent guitarist, Jona Weinhofen, ex-guitarist of Bleeding Through, and of the former band I Killed the Prom Queen joins the group.

On November 2, 2009, a remix version of Suicide Season was released. All songs are recorded by bands or artists including The Secret Handshake, Robotsonics, KC Blitz, L'amour La Morgue, Tek One and Toxic Avenger.

 

Bring Me The Horizon - photo credit Eric CANTO BMTH concert photographer

Bring Me The Horizon - photo credit Eric CANTO

 

Bring me the Horizon - Count Your Blessings

Their debut album, Count Your Blessings, was released in the UK in late 2006 and in the US in August 2007. Bring me The Horizon rents a country house to devote himself fully to writing. The artists record the album in Birmingham, a project affected by their dangerous and excessive binge drinking.

Meanwhile, drummer Nicholls explains, “We were 18 and went out every night. To support Count Your Blessings, they will be on tour in November.

 

Bring Me The Horizon - Oliver Sykes - photo credit Eric CANTO

Bring Me The Horizon - Oliver Sykes - photo credit Eric CANTO

 

Between November and December 2006, this tour was followed by another with Lostprophets and The Blackout. In January 2007, Bring Me the Horizon managed to perform outside of the UK, replacing Bury Your Dead on Killswitch Engage's European tour. Bury Your Dead had to call off their appearance after their drummer Mat Bruso left.

 

Bring me the Horizon Debut (2004–2006)

Bring Me the Horizon was formed in 2004 by various musicians from the Shefflied scene. Urban legend has it that Bring's name is said to be a line from the movie “Pirates of the Caribbean” in which actor Johnny Depp as Jack Sparrow says “Now… bring me that horizon”. Bring Me the Horizon becomes the official name of the Group.

 

Bring Me The Horizon - photo credit Eric CANTO

Bring Me The Horizon photo credit Eric CANTO

 

Months after its founding, the band recorded an indie demo called Bedroom Sessions. Bring recorded his first demo EP for me, this Ep was released in October 2004. This EP was recorded over two weekends in the city of Nottingham. Bass and drums the first weekend and guitar and vocals the second weekend.

After the release of the EP, the group attracted the attention of British label Thirty Days of Night Records, which signed them for four albums and a new release of their EP in January 2005.

 

 

Bring Me the Horizon is the first signing of the Thirty Days of Night Records label. The reissue helped them become popular, and this debut EP reached 41st place on the UK charts.

The group finds itself rewarded in the best new group category at the Kerrang ceremony! Awards. Bring me the Horizon's first tour begins with The Red Chord in the UK.

Current members of Bring me the Horizon

Matt Kean - guitar and bass since 2004
Matt Nicholls - drums, percussion since 2004
Lee Malia - solo guitar, backing vocals since 2004, rhythm guitar since 2012
Oliver Sykes - vocals, programming, keyboards since 2004
Jordan Fish - keyboards, vocals, percussion since 2012

 

Bring Me The Horizon - photo credit Eric CANTO music photographer

 

The latest news from Bring Me… BMTH8

In the midst of all these woes unfolding across the world right now, the band is posting a bunch of updated videos on the process of recording their new album (while working remotely and isolating themselves from the coronavirus. , obviously).

Interestingly, they called this new project BMTH8 in a video announcing their plans, meaning they would consider making a new album, the eighth studio album?

 

Bring Me The Horizon - photo credit Eric CANTO BMTH

Bring Me The Horizon - photo credit Eric CANTO

 

Either way, filmmaker Brian Cox revealed in a new clip:
“The guys are working from home on BMTH8, and with the coronavirus spreading, they've ditched the studios and they're working remotely from their homes. So I'll stick with them and capture them live, and we'll bring you regular updates so that you can be involved in the recording process. "

“You know, it's a crazy time, and we know there are a lot of people in the house wondering what's going on. We wanted to do something to help us get rid of all this chaos.

 Stay with us… we are together and stay safe there. "

sonisphere - bring me the horizon Oliver Sykes

 

It looks like BMTH frontman Oli Sykes is framing a plan for the band to produce new music with more frequency. This was the group's state of mind according to an interview with NME end of 2019.

“We're not going to do an album again, maybe never,” said Sykes. “We are thinking of making shorter recordings. I'm not saying we're going to do something and not live up to it, but the plan is to release several records next year. "

 

bring me the horizon - backstage

Over the past two years, the group has released their sixth full studio album at Amo , then took fans on an 8 song, 75 minute journey with their surprise EP in music to listen to .

Now the group has confirmed that on June 10 they will release their latest single in "Parasite Eve". Although the group released a series of videos retracing their creation process remotely, the confirmation was punctuated by an Instagram post from Oli Sykes.

The video release ramped up last week, giving fans an authentic, unpolished glimpse into the creative process that takes place within the group's structure. The prologue video (included below) gives a real insight into the motivation behind Bring Me the Horizon right now.

The remaining videos from the most recent series give fans a “fly on the wall” perspective of a day at the office with the band.

 

Oliver Sykes bmth- bring me the horizon tour

Bring Me The Horizon - Oliver Sykes - photo credit Eric CANTO

 

“So the world is a fucked up place right now and like everyone else we have been stopped in our tracks. We were working on the music. We were working on a new record, but just like the rest of the world, everything was put on hold; or at least we thought so anyway. 

After it became clear that this lockdown wasn't going anytime soon anyway, we realized we had to make music possible anyway. 

You know if we can't go out and play shows, if we can't go out and connect with the fans and do the things that we love, then we're going to go crazy because the Bring Me the Horizon member didn't probably haven't been home for over a month in about six years. 

So we know we were going to go crazy. So we started to adapt. We started to find ways to keep doing it. "

The rest of the adventures are coming soon ...

 

 

 

 

 


 

Eric CANTO Photographer: Concert photos, portraits, album covers.

 

Visit my portfolio Visit the blog Visit the shop contact me

 

Other articles that may interest you:
MASS HYSTERIA Black matter vinyl version
VINYLE MATIERE NOIRE

Je suis très heureux de vous annoncer la sortie de matière noire vinyle de l'album Matière noire mardi 3 mai. Read more

MASS HYSTERIA : UNE TRISTE NOUVELLE
eric canto photographe concert portrait

Une triste nouvelle, Michel SIX nous a quitté des suites d'une longue maladie. Les fans de Mass Hysteria le connaissaient, Read more

SHOOTING JULIEN DORE PALOMA
julien dore

Shooting de Julien Doré   Un shooting réalisé à la salle Paloma de Nîmes Petite remise en jambe de printemps Read more

Mass Hysteria "Flaws"
mass hysteria flaws

MASS HYSTERIA FAILLES La couverture de l'album Failles de Mass Hysteria réalisée par Eric Canto, photographe : "Après 6 mois, mon Read more

en_USEnglish
Visit the shop

Bring Me The Horizon est un groupe de deathcore /metalcore originaire de la ville anglaise de Shefflied. Ce groupe est relativement décrié par certains fans de métal, mais je dois vous avouer que je suis particulièrement fan du groupe. J’ai eu la chance de tourner sur certains concerts et festivals avec eux il y a quelques années.

Je reste toujours impressionné par la capacité d’Oliver et de son groupe à se réinventer à chaque album. Pour un photographe de concert, le groupe est assez fantastique à shooter. Ce groupe est très jeune, il a pourtant déjà plusieurs vies. Des albums riches, toujours intéressants, voir passionnants.

Bring me the Horizon ( BMTH ) cherche, recherche et s’aventure là où peu de groupes “extrêmes”  s’aventurent. Bon ok, je ne suis pas très objectif… alors si vous ne connaissez pas ce groupe, en voici une petite présentation.

 

Bring Me The Horizon - crédit photo Eric CANTO photographe de concert BMTH

Bring Me The Horizon –  Oliver Sykes – crédit photo Eric CANTO

Bring Me The Horizon : Le groupe

Le groupe est formé en 2004 . C’est en 2005 que Bring Me The Horizon sort son premier Ep. Il se nomme ” This Is What the Edge of Your Seat Was Made For”. Le premier album “Count Your Blessing” lui sort en 2006, il permet au groupe de se forger une réputation et d’ouvrir pour Johnny Truant ou encore Shaped By Fate.

L’album est un succès, et le groupe gagne le Kerrang dans la catégorie “Meilleur Espoir Anglais de 2006”. C’est au début de l’année 2008 que Bring Me The Horizon prépare son second album, Suicide Season. Cet album sort en septembre, le groupe part alors en tournée avec Cancer Bats aux USA.

 

sonisphere - Bring Me The Horizon -  Oliver Sykes - crédit photo Eric CANTO

 

En novembre 2009, le groupe sort un album de remix Cup up !  qui est un album composé de remix de l’album “Suicide season”. Des remix composés notamment par les membres de The Dillinger Escape Plan et de Slipknot (entre autres)

Curtis Ward (Guitare) quitte le groupe en mars 2009. Il est remplacé par Jona Weinhofen (ex-I Killed The Prom Queen, Bleeding Through), mais ce changement n’entache pas le processus de création de leur 3ème album ” There Is a Hell, Believe Me I’ve Seen It. There Is a Heaven, Let’s Keep It a Secret”  sort le 5 octobre.

Le groupe lance petit à petit des extraits sur leur site  comme It Never Ends, Fuck, … jusqu’à la sortie officielle de l’album.

Après une tournée mondiale, le groupe entre en studio pour bosser sur l’album suivant. Il s’appellera Sempiternal est il sortira en 2013 chez RCA, chez qui le groupe vient de signer. En avril 2013, le disque sort dans les bacs, le guitariste Jona Weinhofen quitte Bring Me The Horizon et  Jordan Fish arrive aux claviers.

 

Bring Me The Horizon - crédit photo Eric CANTO BMTH

Bring Me The Horizon –  Oliver Sykes – crédit photo Eric CANTO

LES ALBUMS DE  Bring me the Horizon

Bring me the Horizon – amo ( 2018)

Le 21 août 2018, le groupe a sorti un nouveau single appelé Mantra, qui a été diffusé exclusivement sur la station de radio britannique BBC Radio 1.

Le lendemain, la sortie d’un nouvel album, Amo, prévue pour janvier 2019 est annoncée ainsi qu’une tournée mondiale fin 2018. Le single Wonderful Life with Dani Filth est sorti en octobre 2018. Début janvier 2019, le groupe a dévoilé le Single Medicine, accompagné d’un clip vidéo.

 

 

Il est suivi de Mother Tongue, puis Nihilist Blues with Grimes, qui est sorti la veille de la sortie de l’album. L’album est sorti le 24 janvier 2019. Le 26 juillet 2019, les Britanniques ont sorti le single Sugar Honey Ice & Tea avec un clip vidéo.

Le 6 novembre 2019, le groupe sort le single Ludens, extrait de la bande originale du jeu vidéo Death Stranding et du premier single de leur prochain album. Cette chanson est un retour au Metalcore, un genre que Bring Me the Horizon a progressivement négligé sur ses albums récents.

Définition Métalcore: Le metalcore est un genre dérivé du heavy metal et du punk hardcore qui a  émergé aux États-Unis à la fin des années 1980. Il existe deux genres de metalcore: le metalcore original, qui conserve le riff punk hardcore et la brutalité du heavy metal, et le metalcore mélodique qui combine les sons et les traits du death metal mélodique avec le punk hardcore, le metalcore et parfois emo. Au sens large et généralisé, le son est plus lourd, le rythme plus lent, les solos de guitare un peu plus nombreux, la chanson moins stridente et bien plus hurlé. 

Les groupes de metalcore émergent de la youth crew, culture du punk hardcore, avec de nombreux groupes adhérant au straight edge (s’abstenant de drogues et d’alcool).  Plusieurs membres du groupe metalcore sont chrétiens, dont Zao39, The Devil Wears Prada, As I Lay Dying40, Killswitch Engage, August Burns Red, Texas en juillet, For Today, Oh, Sleeper, Wolves at the Gate, Underoath41,42, Norma Jean, ou Silent Planet 43. Les architectes et Gojira (entre autres) sont végétaliens et fondent leurs textes en grande partie sur le thème de l’écologie.

 

Bring me the Horizon – That’s the Spirit (2015–2017)

En 2015, le groupe annonce la sortie d’un nouvel album intitulé That’s The Spirit. Son premier single intitulé Happy Song est mis en ligne le 12 juillet 2015. L’album marque un changement majeur dans le style du groupe, qui abandonne ses sons metalcore et hardcore pour aborder un style qui se rapproche du métal alternatif, du nu métal, du pop métal et de l’électro rock.

En 2016, le groupe donne un concert événement au Royal Albert Hall de Londres avec un orchestre symphonique et fait l’objet d’une sortie DVD.

 

Bring me the Horizon – Sempiternal (2012–2014)

Le 28 janvier 2012, le groupe a annoncé son retour au studio sur sa page Facebook. Le quatrième album pourrait être basé sur des sons et des influences post-rock. La sortie de l’album intitulé Sempiternal est annoncée pour 2013.

Ce sera le premier à sortir chez Epithaph, le label avec lequel le groupe vient de signer. Début 2013, un premier extrait de l’album Shadow moses a été publié.

Le 14 janvier 2013, le groupe a annoncé la sortie de l’album pour le 29 avril 2013. Dans le même temps, ils annoncent une tournée européenne et le départ de leur guitariste Jona Weinhofen, remplacé par Jordan Fish. Le 28 février 2013, le groupe annonce que son nouvel album: Sempiternal, disponible pendant une semaine en streaming, sortira enfin le 1er avril 2013.

 

 

Bring me the Horizon – There Is a Hell… et The Chill Out Sessions (2010–2011)

Le 4 octobre 2010, son troisième album est sorti.” Il y a un enfer, croyez-moi, je l’ai vu. Il y a le paradis, gardons-le secret.” Le groupe évolue vers le genre Metalcore. La promotion de ces derniers les conduit à des tournées intensives en Europe et aux États-Unis. En 2011, le groupe a participé au Sonisphere Travelling European Festival en Suisse le 24 juin, en Italie le 25 juin et en France au Snowhall Parc d’Amnéville le 8 juillet.

En novembre 2011, le groupe a accompagné le Machine Head Group en tant qu’invité pour leur tournée The Eighth Plague. Enfin, le remix EP du troisième album intitulé The Chill Out Sessions, qui était prévu pour le Nouvel An 2012, est annulé en raison de difficultés de gestion et de label. Il sera enfin disponible en téléchargement gratuit le 22 novembre 2012 sur le site Internet du Groupe.

 

Bring me the Horizon – Suicide Season (2008–2009)

Le deuxième album de Bring Me the Horizon, Suicide Season, sort le 29 septembre 2008. Suicide Season est enregistré  entre avril et mai 2008, en Suède,  avec Fredrik Nordstrom, qui a notamment travaillé avec I Killed the Prom Queen, At the Gates, Arch Enemy  et Dimmu Borgir. En mai et juin 2008, ils retournent en Australie après avoir enregistré leur deuxième album et joué lors de la dernière tournée de I Killed the Prom Queen.

Le groupe ouvre la scène principale dimanche au Reading Festival 2008, qu’ils appellent leur plus grand concert sur MySpace. Ils donnent un concert à Trabendo à Paris le 2 octobre.

 

sonisphere - bring me the horizon

 

En octobre 2008, ils commencent une tournée européenne avec The Red Shore, Deez Nuts et Ignominious Incarceration, suivie d’une tournée aux États-Unis avec Misery Signals, The Ghost Inside et Johnny Truant. Ils se produisent également lors du Warped Tour 2008 aux États-Unis.

Le 19 mars 2009, le groupe annonce sur leur MySpace officiel que Curtis Ward, leur guitariste depuis 5 ans, quitte le groupe, car il ne peut plus supporter le rythme des tournées l’éloignant trop de sa famille.

 

Bring Me The Horizon -  Oliver Sykes - crédit photo Eric CANTO backstage

 

Il sera temporairement remplacé par Dean Rowbotham du Mirimar Disaster, en particulier au Groezrock Festival le 17 avril 2009. Le 9 juillet 2009, un nouveau guitariste permanent, Jona Weinhofen, ex-guitariste de Bleeding Through, et de l’ancien groupe I Killed the Prom Queen intègre le groupe.

Le 2 novembre 2009, une version remix de Suicide Season est publiée. Toutes les chansons sont enregistrées par des groupes ou des artistes, dont The Secret Handshake, Robotsonics, K.C. Blitz, L’amour La Morgue, Tek One et Toxic Avenger.

 

Bring Me The Horizon - crédit photo Eric CANTO photographe de concert BMTH

Bring Me The Horizon – crédit photo Eric CANTO

 

Bring me the Horizon – Count Your Blessings

Leur premier album, Count Your Blessings, est sorti au Royaume-Uni fin 2006 et aux États-Unis en août 2007. Bring me the horizon loue une maison de campagne pour se consacrer pleinement à l’écriture. Les artistes enregistrent l’album à Birmingham, un projet affecté par leurs excès d’alcool dangereux et excessifs.

Pendant ce temps, le batteur Nicholls explique: «Nous avions 18 ans et sortions tous les soirs.” Pour soutenir Count Your Blessings, ils seront en tournée en novembre.

 

Bring Me The Horizon -  Oliver Sykes - crédit photo Eric CANTO

Bring Me The Horizon –  Oliver Sykes – crédit photo Eric CANTO

 

Entre novembre et décembre 2006, cette tournée est suivie d’une autre avec Lostprophets et The Blackout. En janvier 2007, Bring Me the Horizon réussit à jouer en dehors du Royaume-Uni, remplaçant Bury Your Dead lors de la tournée européenne de Killswitch Engage. Bury Your Dead a dû annuler leur apparition après le départ de leur batteur Mat Bruso.

 

Bring me the Horizon Débuts (2004–2006)

Bring Me the Horizon est formé en 2004 par divers musiciens de la scène de Shefflied. La légende urbaine raconte que le nom de Bring  serait une réplique du film “Pirates des Caraïbes” dans lequel l’acteur Johnny Depp en Jack Sparrow dit “Maintenant … apporte-moi cet horizon”. Bring Me the Horizon devient le nom officiel de Groupe.

 

Bring Me The Horizon - crédit photo Eric CANTO

Bring Me The Horizon crédit photo Eric CANTO

 

Des mois après sa fondation, le groupe a enregistré une démo indépendante appelée Bedroom Sessions. Bring me enregistre son premier EP démo, ce Ep sort en octobre 2004. Ce EP est enregistré  en deux week-end dans la ville de Nottingham. Basse et  batterie le premier week-end et guitare et  chant le second week-end.

Après la sortie de l’EP, le groupe attire l’attention du label britannique Thirty Days of Night Records, qui les signe  pour quatre albums et une nouvelle sortie de leur EP en janvier 2005.

 

 

Bring Me the Horizon est la première signature du label Thirty Days of Night Records. La réédition les aide à se populariser, et  ce premier EP atteint la 41e place des “charts” britannique.

Le groupe se retrouve récompensé dans la catégorie de meilleur nouveau groupe à la cérémonie  Kerrang! Awards. La première tournée de Bring me the Horizon commence en compagnie de The Red Chord au Royaume-Uni.

Les membres actuels de Bring me the Horizon

Matt Kean – guitare et basse depuis 2004
Matt Nicholls − batterie, percussions depuis 2004
Lee Malia – guitare solo, chœurs depuis 2004, guitare rythmique depuis 2012
Oliver Sykes – chant, programmation, claviers depuis 2004
Jordan Fish – claviers, chant, percussions depuis 2012

 

Bring Me The Horizon - crédit photo Eric CANTO photographe musique

 

Les dernières news de Bring Me …BMTH8

Au milieu de tous ces malheurs qui se déroulent à travers le monde en ce moment, le groupe publie un tas de vidéos mises à jour sur le processus d’enregistrement de leur nouvel album (tout en travaillant à distance et en s’isolant du coronavirus, évidemment).

Fait intéressant, ils ont appelé ce nouveau projet BMTH8 dans une vidéo annonçant leurs plans, signifiant qu’ils envisageraient de créer un nouvel album, soit le huitième album studio ?

 

Bring Me The Horizon - crédit photo Eric CANTO BMTH

Bring Me The Horizon – crédit photo Eric CANTO

 

Quoi qu’il en soit, le cinéaste Brian Cox a révélé dans un nouveau clip:
« Les gars travaillent à la maison sur BMTH8 , et avec la propagation du coronavirus, ils ont abandonné les studios et ils travaillent à distance depuis leur domicile. Je vais donc rester avec eux et les capturer en direct, et nous vous apporterons des mises à jour régulières afin que vous puissiez être impliqués dans le processus d’enregistrement.”

« Vous savez, c’est un moment fou, et nous savons qu’il y a beaucoup de gens à la maison qui se demandent ce qui se passe. Nous voulions faire quelque chose pour nous aider à nous débarrasser de tout ce chaos.

” Restez avec nous … nous sommes ensemble et restons en sécurité là-bas.”

sonisphere - bring me the horizon Oliver Sykes

 

Il semble que le chanteur de BMTH, Oli Sykes, concrétise un plan selon lequel le groupe devait produire de la nouvelle musique avec plus de fréquence. C’était l’état d’esprit du groupe selon une interview avec NME fin 2019.

“Nous n’allons pas refaire un album, peut-être jamais”, a déclaré Sykes. «Nous pensons à faire des enregistrements plus courts. Je ne veux pas dire que nous allons faire quelque chose et ne pas être à la hauteur, mais le plan est de sortir plusieurs disques l’année prochaine. »

 

bring me the horizon - backstage

Au cours des deux dernières années, le groupe a sorti son sixième album studio complet à Amo , puis a emmené les fans dans un voyage de 8 chansons et 75 minutes avec leur EP surprise en musique à écouter .

Maintenant, le groupe a confirmé que le 10 juin, il sortira son dernier single dans “Parasite Eve”. Bien que le groupe ait publié une série de vidéos retraçant leur processus de création à distance, la confirmation a été ponctuée d’un post instagram d’Oli Sykes.

La sortie vidéo s’est intensifiée la semaine dernière, donnant aux fans un aperçu authentique et non poli du processus créatif qui se déroule au sein de la structure du groupe. La vidéo du prologue (incluse ci-dessous) donne un aperçu réel de la motivation de Bring Me the Horizon en ce moment.

Les vidéos restantes de la série la plus récente offrent aux fans une perspective «voler sur le mur» d’une journée au bureau avec le groupe.

 

Oliver Sykes bmth- bring me the horizon tour

Bring Me The Horizon –  Oliver Sykes – crédit photo Eric CANTO

 

«Donc, le monde est un endroit foutu en ce moment et comme tout le monde, nous avons été arrêtés sur nos traces. Nous travaillions sur la musique. Nous travaillions sur un nouveau record, mais tout comme le reste du monde, tout a été mis en veilleuse; ou du moins nous le pensions de toute façon. 

Après qu’il soit devenu évident que ce verrouillage n’allait de toute façon pas de si tôt, nous avons réalisé que nous devions de toute façon rendre la musique possible. 

Vous savez si nous ne pouvons pas sortir et jouer des spectacles, si nous ne pouvons pas sortir et nous connecter avec les fans et faire les choses que nous aimons, alors nous allons devenir fous parce que le membre de Bring Me the Horizon n’a probablement pas ‘ai pas été à la maison pendant plus d’un mois depuis environ six ans. 

Nous savons donc que nous allions devenir fous. Nous avons donc commencé à nous adapter. Nous avons commencé à trouver des moyens de continuer à le faire. »

La suite des aventures arrive bientôt…

 

 

 

 

 


 

Eric CANTO Photographe : Photos de concert, portraits, pochettes d’album.

 

Visitez mon portfolio Visitez le blog Visitez le shop Contactez moi

 

error: