Erwin Olaf and his new photography book I am

On the occasion of his 60 years and 40 years of career, the Dutch photographer Erwin Olaf has just published its very first monograph. So here is the story of a celebration that is discussed in this imposing 400-page book, simply titled "I Am".

Through the 240 photographs and the various interviews, we witness the evolutions and the various explorations of this extraordinary artist. The texts that make up this delivered provide essential insight into the work of Erwin Olaf. Wim van Sinderen, curator of the Fotomuseum Den Haag, and Mattie Boom, curator at the Rijksmuseum, present this monograph, followed by an interview between the photographer and Laura Stamps, curator at the Gemeentemuseum. Francis Hidgson, co-founder of the Pictet Prize and Financial Times critic, insisted on talking about his latest series produced last year on “Palm Springs”.

We end with the words of WM Hunt, famous American collector and dealer. This first part immerses us in the universe ofErwin Olaf, whose characteristic work has its origins in the pure pictorial tradition Dutch. It is in an almost chronological order that the images scroll. Certain texts by the author punctuate the appearance of the series.

erwin olaf

 

Presentation of photographer Erwin Olaf

This journalism student quickly took an interest in photography. It is with fashion and advertising thatErwin Olaf makes his debut, an essence that we will find throughout his work ... From the first pages, we discover the images of his beginnings, those he produced in the 80s.

It is first in black and white that Erwin Olaf approaches his vision of the world, but although immature, these works nevertheless remain marked by an already very marked singularity. His perfect mastery of light allows him to sculpt the particular relief of his images.

At the end of the work, we discover the last series of the photographer he made last year. “Palm Springs” is the culmination of a triptych on the evolution of cities started in 2012 in Berlin and continued in 2017 in Shanghai. It is this long-term work that concludes this book. On this occasion, the Rabouan Moussion gallery (Paris 3) is exhibiting this latest series exclusively in France, which will be visible until July 27.

Erwin Olaf's photography book - I am

This book is available at the La Comète bookstore.
Price: € 65.00
Hannibal editions

erwin olaf i am

Erwin Olaf - I Am

erwin olaf i am book

Erwin Olaf - I Am

photo erwin olaf

Erwin Olaf - I Am

 

erwin olaf photo

erwin olaf book photographer

erwin olaf photos

erwin olaf book i am

photographer erwin olaf

erwin olaf photographer

photographer erwin olaf i am

erwin olaf books

The career of Erwin Olaf

Erwin Olaf first studied journalism in Utrecht before moving into fashion photography and advertising. His career took on an international dimension after he received the first prize of the Young European Photographer competition for his Chessmen series in 19883. This series was then the subject of an exhibition at the famous Ludwig Museum in Cologne, Germany.

His personal projects cover a wide variety of subjects, such as in Paradise Portraits, where he features disturbing clowns ("To me, clowns represent anonymity and danger. Even though they are supposed to amuse children, they are frightening ”4). Grief, in 2007, shows people in mourning. Let us also quote his series Berlin, in 2012, set in the Berlin of the interwar period.

Erwin Olaf works in parallel with his personal projects with renowned brands such as Nokia, Levi's or more recently for Bottega Veneta5. However, he did not hesitate to criticize the fashion industry with his Fashion Victims series, produced in 2000, which features, among other things, nude models with faces covered by bags from brands such as Chanel, Gucci, Versace, Yves Saint Laurent or Moschino.

Photographer's official website: Erwin Olaf


 

Eric CANTO Photographer: Concert photos, portraits, album covers.

 

Visit my portfolio Visit the blog Visit the shop contact me

 

Other articles that may interest you:
Jean-Marie Perier : Itinéraire d’un photographe gâté
Jean Marie Perier 20

Jean-Marie Perier, son histoire en quelques mots... Jean-Marie Perier est né à Neuilly en 1940. Il débute sa carrière comme Read more

VIVIAN MAIER: Une photographe d’exception
Vivian Maier

Percer le mystére de la vie de Vivian Maier peut facilement évoquer la célèbre citation de Churchill sur le vaste Read more

Pierre et Gilles: 30 years of Photos
Pierre et Gilles 30 years of Photos, exhibitions and publications.

[et_pb_text admin_label="Text" _builder_version="3.27.4" background_size="initial" background_position="top_left" Read more
Annie Leibovitz Photographer
annie leibovitz photography

Presentation of the photographer Annie Leibovitz The photos of Annie Leibovitz tell the story of public life for the past 40 years Read more

en_USEnglish
Visit the shop

Erwin Olaf et son nouveau livre de photographie I Am

A l’occasion de ses 60 ans et 40 ans de carrière, le photographe néerlandais Erwin Olaf vient de publier sa toute première monographie. Voici donc l’histoire d’une célébration qui est discutée dans cet imposant livre de 400 pages, simplement intitulé “Je suis”.

A travers les 240 photographies et les différentes interviews, nous assistons aux évolutions et aux différentes explorations de cet artiste hors du commun. Les textes qui composent ce livre fournissent un aperçu essentiel du travail d’Erwin Olaf. Wim van Sinderen, conservateur du Fotomuseum Den Haag, et Mattie Boom, conservateur au Rijksmuseum, présentent cette monographie, suivie d’une interview entre le photographe et Laura Stamps, conservatrice au Gemeentemuseum. Francis Hidgson, co-fondateur du prix Pictet et critique du Financial Times, a insisté pour parler de sa dernière série produite l’année dernière sur “Palm Springs”.

Nous terminons avec les mots de W.M. Hunt, célèbre collectionneur et marchand américain. Cette première partie nous plonge dans l’univers d’Erwin Olaf, dont l’œuvre caractéristique puise ses origines dans la pure tradition picturale hollandaise. C’est dans un ordre quasi chronologique que les images défilent. Certains textes de l’auteur ponctuent l’apparence de la série.

erwin olaf

 

Présentation du photographe Erwin Olaf

Cet étudiant en journalisme s’est rapidement intéressé à la photographie. C’est avec la mode et la publicité qu’Erwin Olaf fait ses débuts, une essence que l’on retrouvera tout au long de son travail … Dès les premières pages, on découvre les images de ses débuts, celles qu’il a produites dans les années 80.

C’est d’abord en noir et blanc qu’Erwin Olaf aborde sa vision du monde, mais bien qu’immatures, ces œuvres restent néanmoins marquées par une singularité déjà très marquée. Sa parfaite maîtrise de la lumière lui permet de sculpter le relief particulier de ses images.

A la fin des travaux, on découvre la dernière série du photographe qu’il a réalisée l’année dernière. «Palm Springs» est l’aboutissement d’un triptyque sur l’évolution des villes entamé en 2012 à Berlin et poursuivi en 2017 à Shanghai. C’est ce travail de longue haleine qui vient clore ce livre. A cette occasion, la galerie Rabouan Moussion (Paris 3) expose en exclusivité en France cette dernière série qui sera visible jusqu’au 27 juillet.

Le livre de photographie d’Erwin Olaf – I am

Cet ouvrage est disponible à la librairie La Comète.
Prix : 65,00€
Éditions Hannibal

erwin olaf i am

Erwin Olaf – I Am

erwin olaf i am livre

Erwin Olaf – I Am

photo erwin olaf

Erwin Olaf – I Am

 

erwin olaf photo

erwin olaf livre photographe

erwin olaf photos

erwin olaf livre i am

photographe erwin olaf

erwin olaf photographe

photographe erwin olaf i am

erwin olaf livres

La carrière d’Erwin Olaf

Erwin Olaf a tout d’abord étudié le journalisme à Utrecht avant de se lancer dans la photographie de mode et la publicité. Sa carrière a pris une dimension internationale après qu’il a reçu le premier prix du concours Young European Photographer pour sa série Chessmen en 19883. Cette série a ensuite fait l’objet d’une exposition au célèbre Musée Ludwig à Cologne en Allemagne.

Ses projets personnels portent sur des sujets très variés, comme dans Paradise Portraits, où il met en scène des clowns inquiétants (« Pour moi, les clowns représentent l’anonymat et le danger. Même s’ils sont supposés amuser les enfants, ils sont effrayants »4). Grief, en 2007, montre des personnages endeuillés. Citons encore sa série Berlin, en 2012, situé dans le Berlin de l’entre-deux-guerres.

Erwin Olaf travaille en parallèle de ses projets personnels avec des marques de renom comme Nokia, Levi’s ou plus récemment pour Bottega Veneta5. Il n’a cependant pas hésité à critiquer l’industrie de la mode avec sa série Fashion Victims, réalisée en 2000, qui met en scène, entre autre, des modèles nus aux visages couverts par des sacs de marques telles que Chanel, Gucci, Versace, Yves Saint Laurent ou encore Moschino.

Site officiel du photographe : Erwin Olaf


 

Eric CANTO Photographe : Photos de concert, portraits, pochettes d’album.

 

Visitez mon portfolio Visitez le blog Visitez le shop Contactez moi

 

error: